PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help on how to make a coiled guitar cable

jlthorne
02-03-2016, 09:13 AM
Hello I have never used this forum (or any forum) but I am new to modeling and I would like to make a model of a coiled guitar cable. I have looked everywhere and tried a lot of things but it never looks right. Is there anyone who has an idea that could help me get started? I am sorry if I am posting this incorrectly but in 64 years, I have never used a forum before so forgive me. The image I am going for is this 132190. Thanks for any help.

Farhad_azer
02-03-2016, 09:53 AM
Hi and welcome,

Make a flat poly and do lathe, under the parameters do offsetting in order to get spiral shape, then use taper to make it smaller at the top,
So simple.

Farhad_azer
02-03-2016, 10:02 AM
A better approach would be to extract curve (points from lathe and then make an open curve of it) and then use rail extrude by using a circular 2d shape.

you should note that 360 degree for lathe will not suffice and u should do a multiplication of it to make more turns.

MonroePoteet
02-03-2016, 05:11 PM
Welcome to the LW forums! Your post is just fine.

Here's a video by William Vaughan (proton) about the Helix tool:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAAEcHGf3DY&feature=youtu.be

It doesn't allow a fixed reduction per rotation (instead using a percentage, so the coils get closer together), so you can use Pole Evenly to right-drag an area of influence about 1/2 way out and pull the inner coils farther away from each other.

Once you commit the Helix tool, it clones the object you have in the foreground. So, do an Undo (CTRL-Z), align the 8-sided disc on the head of the helix curve, and use Rail Extrude. Select the end-caps (polygons with >4 sides), and use Multiply=>More...=>Make Pole to convert them to triangles. Hit TAB to convert to subpatches, and color it blue. You can then grab the ends and curve them up out of the coil to add the connectors.