PDA

View Full Version : Dome light rendering problems / questions



ecsegar
01-28-2016, 09:05 AM
I tried the dome light on a small animation, but the results were surprising. The lighting was inconsistent, like a light strobing effect.
Is this a sampling problem? The light samples are only set to 4 as this was a test. Should I try again with higher settings, or switch lighting?

btw, not using GI

Danner
01-29-2016, 02:13 AM
It does sound like a sampling problem, look for a trouble spot and render a short sequence with more samples.

ecsegar
01-29-2016, 07:57 AM
Upping it doesn't seem to help much, it's especially bad on fiber fx.

The dome light looks good, but I'll ditch it and move on.

spherical
01-29-2016, 03:28 PM
Might try a DP Light Dome in place of the native one.

http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/plugins/lights/Additional_Lights.html

ecsegar
01-29-2016, 04:34 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, spherical , I'll check it out :)