PDA

View Full Version : The pain of learning a new app

jeric_synergy
01-28-2016, 01:07 AM
Oyyy, the pain of learning a new app. Struggling thru some C4D tute, my head grew heavy and my sight grew dim, I had to stop for the night.

It's JUST short of being physically painful. It's not helping that the Maxon supplied tutes are in "wall o' text" format, with few breaks to make it flow for the newbie. I have no doubt that an experienced user would whip thru these, but that's not really the best design for a tutorial, is it?

I've found my best bet is to C&P the text into a text document (OO Writer in my case), and add spaces and extra lines to make the 'narrative' clearer. I will say there is an adequate number of screen grabs in the document, so kudos for that (BeeVee, take note: a screen grab can clarify a lot of text.). But really, numbered lists/steps are Very Good for tutorials. Regular prose just makes it too easy to miss a critical step, both for the user and IME for the writer as well.

:cry:

djwaterman
01-28-2016, 02:29 AM
Try Youtube, and start with something simple like some text animation, just anything that takes you from nothing to a rendered result. I reckon it's just doing that first completed exercise no matter how naff that gets you started.

Or these.

http://greyscalegorilla.com/intro-to-cinema-4d

https://vimeo.com/channels/bestofc4d/152579137

http://greyscalegorilla.com/tutorials/cinema-4d-for-absolute-beginners/

pinkmouse
01-28-2016, 02:34 AM
You think C4D's bad, try Houdini. Brilliant s/w, but a learning curve like the north face of the Eiger :)

Danner
01-28-2016, 03:11 AM
Sounds like Zbrush, Brilliant software, alien interface.

Kinetic Shapes
01-28-2016, 03:13 AM
Once you get used to Cinema 4Ds work flow you will find it fast and intuitive for a lot of things. You can setup nice fancy text motion graphic animations in a half hr that would take a whole day in LW. LW surfacing nodes and renderer is still nicer :)