PDA

View Full Version : Export to .STL output file very small



Stephen0523
01-07-2016, 02:56 PM
Hello.
I have a model drawn in LW that is 36" high. My 3D printer wants it scaled to 12" high. For some reason when I exported the 36" high model the .STL file I outputted to was less than 1mm!

Here are my options from LW for exporting: http://prntscr.com/9nbep4
Here is the file in 123D that has it at.911" http://prntscr.com/9nbhka

My printer is using SolidWorks and it is also coming in at the .911" size.

Any advise would be truly appreciated! :-)

Regards
Stephen

calilifestyle
01-07-2016, 03:46 PM
When you bring it into Solidworks are the settings mm or inches, same when exporting out of 123d. one more thing Solidowroks slt settings are importing as graphics, solid or surface body. I try to import as Solid body so i can edit the file and scale if needed.

Stephen0523
01-07-2016, 04:42 PM
Hi calilifestyle, I sent your remark on to my 3-D printer guy but I do not think this will help him.

calilifestyle
01-07-2016, 05:31 PM
Oh i missed something with your post your export settings from lightwave might be off.

calilifestyle
01-07-2016, 05:44 PM
Here 's an example of settings you might be missing to get a 1:1 scale131816131817131818 3rd image is the box imported into solidworks

ConjureBunny
01-09-2016, 01:45 AM
As pointed out in the other thread, there's a math error in the STL scripts LightWave users have been using for years, which I've corrected, and posted it for free, here:

http://www.liberty3d.com/2013/03/freebie-export-stl/

I don't know if LightWave's latest internal solution uses the same math as the original code, or if they fixed it as well. But The above link does work for me, so it might work for you.

-Chilton

calilifestyle
01-09-2016, 03:39 AM
I haven't had any problems with lw2015. But again i always bring int he file into SW. Recently i did run into one weird thing. I forgot to to freeze the object . so then i reprinted and it shrunk. But it was cool.

Stephen0523
01-19-2016, 12:37 PM
I haven't had any problems with lw2015. But again i always bring int he file into SW. Recently i did run into one weird thing. I forgot to to freeze the object . so then i reprinted and it shrunk. But it was cool.

So I got the sizing issue sorted, but now the model is flipped?
Any ideas? prntscr.com/9s79ay http://prntscr.com/9s7a81131963131964

spherical
01-19-2016, 03:56 PM
I've never seen a format conversion flip a mesh. Only thing I can think of that would to that would be to set a negative value in X or Z somehow.