PDA

View Full Version : EPS file conversion

litewavejohnnie
01-03-2016, 10:48 AM
Hi Everyone.

I am a newbie in this forum. I just decided to buy Lightwave again after a 17 year break. I used to create with it when i had the video toaster 4000, personal animation recorder, and the biggest hard drive was about a gb.

I'm trying to import a logo to make a model. It says it has to be EPS file. So, I sent the logo into paint shop pro, made it an EPS file and attempted several times to import it to no avail. Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong ? It's probably a basic oversight.

Thanks for any and all assistance.

Litewavejohnnie

ernpchan
01-03-2016, 10:54 AM
Are you saving it as the Illustrator 8 format?

litewavejohnnie
01-03-2016, 10:56 AM
Hey thanks ernpchan for your quick response.

NO, I no longer have the creative cloud .

Sincerely,

Litewavejohnnie

DrStrik9
01-03-2016, 10:58 AM
I don't have experience with paint shop pro, but if you have access to Adobe Illustrator, you can save the file as a version 8 (or earlier) eps, and Modeler loads this well. I'm sure there are other (non-Adobe) workflows; this is what I use.

If paint shop pro allows saving various versions of eps files, try earlier ones.

litewavejohnnie
01-03-2016, 11:10 AM
Thank you DrStrik9.

I dont have access to illustrator any longer. I'll have to keep searching for a non adobe solution. Thank for your quick response.

Sincerely,

Litewavejohnnie

ernpchan
01-03-2016, 11:12 AM
You could try inkscape.

litewavejohnnie
01-03-2016, 11:30 AM
thanks ernpchan,

just tried it. does not work. cool free program though

sincerely,

Litewavejohnnie

ernpchan
01-03-2016, 11:36 AM
Hm ok. I know there are other free alternatives to illustrator. The key would be finding one that exports the eps format that LightWave supports.

litewavejohnnie
01-03-2016, 11:43 AM