PDA

View Full Version : Is not having a degree a serious problem when building a career in graphics in UK?

shenhua
12-02-2015, 05:56 AM
Hi everyone

Recently I talked with a buddy of mine and since we don't live in UK we'd like someone from there to share with us any information about the reality on the ground.

My question is this.

If someone is a college dropout, of a major completely unrelated to graphics - in other words, has no actual degree.

And that person would be aiming to make a career in graphics - most happily in animation, special effects, 3D graphics, content creation (mostly 3D graphic content but also music and other content) for games... short - something that would either focus on film/videos OR 3D graphic content for games.

So assuming such person actually does things well, is self-taught and knows what he's doing.

How much of a difficulty would there be for a said person, to make a career in UK in graphics without an academic degree?
Or in short - how often would he hear from potential employers - "Well... we like what you do, but we can't hire you, because you don't have a degree"?

Also, if you happen to know how it looks in US, New Zealand, Australia or Canada, I guess these could be useful as well, at least to compare.

Thanks in advance for any input on this.

These days you hear many things about universities - and I don't mean just the protests. And all sorts of opinions about education. So I would like to clarify that I am not really asking if completing an academic course makes sense - I simply want to know, how do potential employers look at the potential employees in this particular field.

RebelHill
12-02-2015, 06:12 AM