PDA

View Full Version : Layout transparency limit?



DrStrik9
11-27-2015, 05:24 PM
I have 12 objects, each with a different color, and each is 100% transparent with its own alpha channel, so only the non-transparent elements show, in the object's color. Very basic surfacing.

The camera looks through all 12 objects.

In scene editor, if I activate more than 5 of these objects, one other object disappears in both VPR and renders. It seems only 5 stacked transparent objects can be seen in VPR or rendered at a time. This is kind of blowing my idea for this scene.

Is there a setting somewhere that will expand the number of stacked transparent objects that will render? (I would use clip maps, but these are all soft alphas.)

Thanks for any insight.


--


LW 2015.3

spherical
11-27-2015, 05:30 PM
Ray Recursion Limit?

DrStrik9
11-27-2015, 05:34 PM
Yeah, tried that. Set it to 14. No improvement.

djwaterman
11-27-2015, 06:07 PM
Blow it out to a higher figure. Why'd you stop at 14, you have 12 transparent objects.

DrStrik9
11-27-2015, 06:08 PM
Yeah, I just set it to 64, and this seems to have solved the problem. -- Not in VPR, but in the render.

Ztreem
11-27-2015, 06:15 PM
Disable draft mode in VPR.

djwaterman
11-27-2015, 06:31 PM
Actually, I think 14 is enough, I've set up a scene with 12 transparent objects stacked in a line with transparency maps, and 14 lets me see them all. I unchecked draft mode in VPR so that they also show up in VPR.

Never mind, I see you've solved it.

DrStrik9
11-27-2015, 07:23 PM
That helps too, thanks. :+)

JonW
11-28-2015, 04:42 AM
It needs to be set only 1 higher than the number of surfaces So if you have 3 wine glasses lining up with the camera. You have the outside of the glass and the inside of the glass, near side and far side, times 3 glasses plus 1 = 13

DrStrik9
11-28-2015, 06:27 AM
That's good info. I originally tried 14 with my 12 one-sided transparent objects, but it didn't work. So I set it to 64, which did work. But I think it may require one render to fully take effect (?) ... Now I set it back to 13, and it works as desired.

spherical
11-28-2015, 03:45 PM
Was this an F9 render or while VPR was still set to Draft? I've never had Ray Limit not take immediately upon change. BTW, this is why foliage models often appear odd, with the background showing where it shouldn't. The plethora of polys that make up the leaves gobble rays until the limit is reached. If there are more polys than limit along a given ray path, the calc stops right there and whatever is behind the transparent polys shows.

DrStrik9
11-28-2015, 04:09 PM
This was F9, and wasn't foliage. (I am also working on foliage in a different scene, but there is no transparency in that scene - just clip maps, so this shouldn't be a problem.) I don't actually remember if VPR was set to draft or not in the scene with transparency, but it probably was. I don't know why the full transparency of 12 objects didn't work on the first render with ray recursion set to 14. It is presently set to 13 on that scene (12 surfaces + 1), and everything renders fine.