PDA

View Full Version : HDR Labs Smart_IBL.lsc ?

blueshift
11-24-2015, 07:58 PM
131190I downloaded and extracted HDR Labs IBL ( Plugin ? ) I find it's an .lsc file. Is this an Lscript File ? I have no experience with Lscript files other than The "Hello World " Tute. How do I install and use this. I didn't see anything about it on HDR Labs website yet but I will look again. With the download I also got the sIBLedit app. and in my LW programs/bin folder I find an Lseditor app. I'm totally lost on how to install and use this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

DrStrik9
11-24-2015, 08:25 PM
sIBL shows up under Utilities > Additional, as "Smart IBL". You can place it somewhere in your menus using Edit > Edit Menu Layout. I put mine under Items > Add.

On Mac, it doesn't work in 2015, but if you can find the beta (can't remember where I got it, or its version number, but someone told me about it in this forum, so you can probably find the link by doing a search if you need) On Mac, that "beta" version works great in 11.6.3.

I just make sIBL scenes out of every sIBL set I acquire in 11.6.3, for future use in 2015.3 ...

--

EDIT: Oops, I re-read your post and realized you asked how to install sIBL. You install it just like any other plugin: Edit > Edit Plugins.

spherical
11-25-2015, 04:52 PM
Or put it in: [lightWave_install_directory]/support/plugins/scripts/LScript/[third_party_directory_tree]

For the latter in [] I make a "/3rd" directory (for third-party-plugins) and either plunk singletons directly into it or, in the case of one author having several plugins/scripts, make a sub-directory for them under /3rd. So the path becomes: [lightWave_install_directory]/support/plugins/scripts/LScript/3rd/blochi and all of blochi's scripts go in there. Same method is set up in /plugins. Then, when LightWave scans for plugins they are all found and when there is an update or uninstall the third-party-plugins/scripts remain intact in their respective locations.

blueshift