PDA

View Full Version : Octane + Lightwave user question



millsron
11-08-2015, 04:24 PM
Hi

I am considering the purchase of Octane for use with Lightwave 2015.2. Can any of you share your comments about using Octane 2.0 with Lightwave?

Thanks
Ron

vismod
11-08-2015, 08:12 PM
Outstanding product ...

However, bear in mind that you will need to spend some time rethinking model surfacing.
1. All of your LW surfacing has to be re-done via Octane's nodes
2. There is some "automation", in that Octane's material nodes have the option to fetch a single layer from many of LW's surface setting layers (basically the top layer only)

Strongly recommend downloading the demo version and setting aside some time to have a play.

But a pretty potent product, especially if you chain a few GPU's together (either on a single MB or via additional Octane licences across a network)

Gungho3D
11-08-2015, 08:22 PM
Yep, second that. There is also a way to force Octane to take notice of LW's (top layer) surface settings via Octane's "Utilities->UVMap" node ... but it can be a bit tricky.

Go down the Octane demo path first as a safe bet. The SW can produce outstanding imagery, especially if e.g. you start getting some HDRI env imagery going and match Octane's "sun" to that.

Cheers, Gung

THIBAULT
11-09-2015, 03:03 AM
Do not forget to provide a large budget to buy big video cards !

tcoursey
11-09-2015, 06:56 AM
Do not forget to provide a large budget to buy big video cards !

Yes but much smaller than you would need for similar results with CPU's.

Would completely agree with first couple of responses. Surfacing is different and has limitations to some level, depending on your surfacing techniques. But I find it incredibly easy to get highly reaslistic lighting/surfacing without much effort....because you don't have to FAKE it. They have worked on the product regularly and it has come to the end of it's cycle (for the most part) on version 2.0. 3.0 will bring some sweet features...volumetrics for one! v2.0 is quite solid and is well worth the money if you have a system that will take advantage of it.

Look at the Octane benchmarks for different GPU configurations. That will give you a good idea of what kind of performance you will get, or what you would want to buy. Good luck!

pixym
11-09-2015, 07:49 AM
Take also in mind to have to triangulate some of your models because Octane may not render correctly some of them…

tcoursey
11-09-2015, 08:20 AM
Take also in mind to have to triangulate some of your models because Octane may not render correctly some of themů

Yes Octane does not handle NGons. No need to triangulate everything, but any ngons will need to be reduced to 4 or triangulated. Kind of a pain and makes models messy. Wish this could be addressed...But with surface selection tools in LW and Reduce Poly command...you can get your model to look good for tweaking if you need to go back to a clean model fairly easy I find.

Gungho3D
11-09-2015, 09:09 PM
Yes Octane does not handle NGons. No need to triangulate everything, but any ngons will need to be reduced to 4 or triangulated. Kind of a pain and makes models messy. Wish this could be addressed...But with surface selection tools in LW and Reduce Poly command...you can get your model to look good for tweaking if you need to go back to a clean model fairly easy I find.

Keep a "clean" model for ongoing tweaking/development, and just "publish" an Octane targeted save which has dealt with any NGon issues.

The other thing Octane doesn't like is holes in polygons, so some forethought during modeling pays off here.

All in all easy fixes.