PDA

View Full Version : Instant Field Aligned Meshes



seghier
11-04-2015, 02:43 PM
interresting !


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6wtw6W4x3I

for test :
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes

probiner
11-04-2015, 04:55 PM
Amazing!
All these things need to find an "application" ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8K5CyQB_kc

prometheus
11-04-2015, 05:18 PM
interresting !


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6wtw6W4x3I

for test :
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes


nice topology tools...is this one open source...seem to be some stuff up there, but have no clue on which to download in such case?
and have you tested it?

seghier
11-04-2015, 06:58 PM
Amazing!
All these things need to find an "application" ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8K5CyQB_kc

yes :D

seghier
11-04-2015, 07:16 PM
nice topology tools...is this one open source...seem to be some stuff up there, but have no clue on which to download in such case?
and have you tested it?

you find all files here : https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes
to try it copy your "ply" file with a png have the same name inside Datasets folder

probiner
11-04-2015, 07:29 PM
But can you export a mesh? :)

seghier
11-04-2015, 07:32 PM
yes as obj ; but it crash maybe they need fix something

probiner
11-04-2015, 07:44 PM
Exactly, you can't save :)

seghier
11-04-2015, 07:48 PM
can someone try mac or linux version ; i reported this issue

prometheus
11-05-2015, 10:36 AM
the software feels kind of useless to me :(
I canīt get neither obj format or ply format to even be recognized in the browser panel, have to add*.ply or obj manually...
then when loading any of them..it just crashes, so I canīt get any mesh in there at all.

windows 7

probiner
11-05-2015, 10:41 AM
Reported

seghier
11-06-2015, 02:46 PM
fixed now and "save / export" worked fine

prometheus
11-06-2015, 03:26 PM
fixed now and "save / export" worked fine

aha..but does it load obj and ply files properly? it didnīt work for me.

probiner
11-06-2015, 03:40 PM
It does. Re-Download
http://i.imgur.com/NZpQqFF.png

prometheus
11-06-2015, 03:58 PM
we need better referenced link to the proper versions, it seems I downloaded the pre-compiled binaries, which I beleive is wrong.
I had a hard time finding it..but I reckon it is the this one?
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes/archive/master.zip

Edit..nope..that contains no exefile, so which one is the correct download?

probiner
11-06-2015, 04:15 PM
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes#pre-compiled-binaries

Pre compiled binaries. Are you PC user?

prometheus
11-06-2015, 04:21 PM
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes#pre-compiled-binaries

Pre compiled binaries. Are you PC user?

As George Clooney says....what else?

Thereīs no date info on update or anything..so I donīt know if I would be downloading the same file again.

seghier
11-06-2015, 04:43 PM
i can load object without problem Michael

seghier
11-06-2015, 04:47 PM
As George Clooney says....what else?

Thereīs no date info on update or anything..so I donīt know if I would be downloading the same file again.
you must redownload the file

seghier
11-06-2015, 05:05 PM
we need better referenced link to the proper versions, it seems I downloaded the pre-compiled binaries, which I beleive is wrong.
I had a hard time finding it..but I reckon it is the this one?
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes/archive/master.zip

Edit..nope..that contains no exefile, so which one is the correct download?

not that
download this :
https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/instant-meshes/Release/instant-meshes-windows.zip
and datasets :
https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/instant-meshes/instant-meshes-datasets.zip

" Please also fetch the following dataset ZIP file and extract it so that the datasets folder is in the same directory as Instant Meshes, Instant Meshes.app, or Instant Meshes.exe. "

prometheus
11-06-2015, 05:28 PM
not that
download this :
https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/instant-meshes/Release/instant-meshes-windows.zip
and datasets :
https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/instant-meshes/instant-meshes-datasets.zip

" Please also fetch the following dataset ZIP file and extract it so that the datasets folder is in the same directory as Instant Meshes, Instant Meshes.app, or Instant Meshes.exe. "

Thanks..that worked, though first an error since it can not import obj in quads, needs triangles.

seghier
11-06-2015, 05:33 PM
if you find any bug tell the developper in the same page : he quickly fix the problem :)

prometheus
11-06-2015, 06:33 PM
the program doesnīt feel very inituive though, will take some time to test I think.
I tried importing one of my metaedges creature limbs, which is constructed from line pen and converted to metaedges, it was also refined first with reducing polygons, and merging of trigons, then metaformed, then triangled again to get it acceptable with this remeshing tool,the polyflow from such experiments arenīt very nice..so I thought I would give this a go..and granted, initial tests on that performs much nicer polyflow, though I didnīt get it to export the hole mesh, so I need to read up on this...but it seems promising and it could mean you can actually use metaedges for creation of creatures perhaps, if I can get a decent pipeline and polyflow with this, you could just load any skelegon figure, from genoma or create your own figures with the line pen, and save..then after metaedges, remesh it properly with this tool..perhaps.

seghier
11-06-2015, 07:13 PM
i don't tried with many objects ; but if there is a problem is better to contact the developper ; maybe he will understand the problem and will fix it
i don't know if this is a future software or just a tool ; maybe they will add more features or they stop developping

probiner
11-07-2015, 11:13 AM
To be honest I'm having more fun with the other one :)
http://igl.ethz.ch/projects/sketch-retopo/sketch-retopo-license.html
They have different uses... One is a system that aids our manual retopo, and the other is for us aiding an auto retopo system.
For this one you have to check the tuts!
Cheers
http://i.imgur.com/C5i28hK.png

prometheus
11-07-2015, 02:51 PM
probiner ..thanks for the heads up on that retopotool, free to use for testing and showcasing..and if you find it so useful and for commercial tasks, why not pay for it.

will look in to it later.

seghier
11-07-2015, 04:51 PM
To be honest I'm having more fun with the other one :)
http://igl.ethz.ch/projects/sketch-retopo/sketch-retopo-license.html
They have different uses... One is a system that aids our manual retopo, and the other is for us aiding an auto retopo system.
For this one you have to check the tuts!
Cheers
http://i.imgur.com/C5i28hK.png

i tried that before and posted about it but i don't remember where
it is very useful but sometimes crashed

probiner
11-08-2015, 02:41 PM
Few crashes and its autosave works fine. The only pet peeve I had is you can save the camera settings and always have o set it Upright.
Sent some suggestions to the dev. Unfortunately I have no idea when will there be a comercial licensing for this :(

Cheers