PDA

View Full Version : Micropoly Displacement on Lightwave. How?



silviotoledo
10-30-2015, 08:02 PM
Is there a way to use micropoly displacement on lightwave? How? Any sample results?

I was thinking in using this to replece Fiber FX on short hair. Will this work?

m.d.
10-30-2015, 10:16 PM
currently only with DP MicroDisp, or Octane...

Could work.....not sure if there is an advantage over instancing though

prometheus
10-31-2015, 07:11 AM
skip displacement..use instancing or fiberfx.

DogBoy
10-31-2015, 11:54 AM
I used instancing to add hairs to a crab and it worked well.

lightscape
11-01-2015, 09:24 PM
Micropoly displacement takes some render hit compared to instancing even in vray. If its possible to use instancing its better to go for that.

prometheus
11-02-2015, 10:02 AM
if the object is one item ..and not several object you need it on, fiberfx should do it...check the feather tutorials and results from Khalid Muharraqi...




https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaoypChuU1U


Tutorial.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4AwtN1EK9E