PDA

View Full Version : LW2016 - Is Chronosculpt development Dead?



Luc_Feri
10-25-2015, 03:34 PM
I know about the programmer leaving etc, etc.

So is Chronosculpt dead, are you guys going to improve anything with it?

mummyman
10-26-2015, 02:38 PM
I'm sure it would make things more cluttered, but incorporate it into the new 2016 and beyond? That would probably be a price thing.

Luc_Feri
11-06-2015, 08:34 AM
Ooops so quiet on this part of the forum I forgot I had posted something. The fact the post gets no answers says it all, thanks for your money invested.

erikals
11-06-2015, 08:54 PM
wouldn't surprise me if Chrono tech gets to be implemented into LightWave at a later stage... LW2018 ?

if you will get a discount? not sure...

mummyman
11-07-2015, 12:40 PM
I think that would be awesome to incorporate. I don't own it, but have many many times seen the need for it, doing organic animation. I don't know how well NT is doing selling seperate programs. Too much for them to handle? With the unified engine, however it works, I would think chronosculpt could fit right in. Good things to come!

Airwaves
11-09-2015, 03:26 PM
I would like to know if they will continue with Chronosculpt as well. I am very close to making a purchase but am concerned and have several questions about what will happen to it if I buy it and it becomes part of Lightwave 2016. For now I will try the 30 day trial and see how it goes. I make lots of videos with dynamics in them and while they are little kid videos and not too complex it would be nice to edit things like soft body dynamics.

Right now I have a sheep being launched into a pillow and I have spent 12 hours changing settings trying to not let it go through it or bounce off. I think Chronosculpt would help with this I am hoping.

erikals
11-09-2015, 04:28 PM
if they do not reply to it, it's gone, i believe...

kinda like SpeedEdit...

Airwaves
11-10-2015, 12:16 AM
I do not have as much experience as most people on the forums but Newtek has always been good to me and the money spent has been well worth it. I will do the 30 day trial and if it is helpful in my work I will pay for it.

Airwaves
11-10-2015, 01:16 AM
Anybody know of good tutorials for this? The ones they have up on youtube do not explain a ton. Any tutorial is helpful.

Luc_Feri
11-10-2015, 09:23 AM
if they do not reply to it, it's gone, i believe...

kinda like SpeedEdit...

I would accept a comment from somebody that the road is closed and it will not be developed further. I would be annoyed but I could get over it, silence is a cowardly way of dealing with it.

Luc_Feri
11-10-2015, 09:30 AM
I do not have as much experience as most people on the forums but Newtek has always been good to me and the money spent has been well worth it. I will do the 30 day trial and if it is helpful in my work I will pay for it.

That would be best idea. It is very useful as it stands the program, it's just a shame the stonewall of silence from a development front.

Airwaves
11-13-2015, 12:57 AM
Can you guys tell me a quick how to on Chronosculpt. I created a simple scene with a ground plane object and some cubes falling just to test it out. I have about 15 cubes (copies of same object) and I selected them all and went to deformations and md baker and got the mdd files. How in the world do I get the scene in chronosculpt?

I have tried dragging in those objects into chronosculpt but nothing happens when I drag in the mdd files from the vertacache folder. How do you get a scene of dynamics loaded into Chronosculpt? I can drag in just the lwo file for the object but that is just one and does nothing with the mdd file.

Does chronosculpt not work if you have many copies of the same object in a scene?

Luc_Feri
11-13-2015, 01:44 PM
Load cache file from file menu, it has never failed yet as long as the .mdd cache point count matches the object files point count.

130978

In your case each object would need it's own vert cache baked if they are seperate objects. Try instancing the one object and add some randomisation or jitter to the animation of the instances maybe.

Airwaves
11-14-2015, 01:54 PM
I will try the instancing again. In the past it seems too hard to use and get right. Thank you so much for your answer. It was very helpful and sorry it took me a few days to respond thanking you.

jasonwestmas
11-14-2015, 02:30 PM
yeah with all the huge changes I can bet that CS will be incorporated inside of layout. . .some year. That way we can use more high performance animation tools along with the point cache editing.

Cageman
11-14-2015, 02:32 PM
I certanly hope they will continue its developement. It is very usefull, no matter what 3DCC software you use as a base.

Even if it gets implemented in LW in some form, granted, LW-users will not need it... thing is... there are plenty of users/studios out there, not using LW, that could make use of Chronosculpt, especially if LW3DG can showcase that they are developing the product.

If LW3DG doesn't, it's their loss.

jasonwestmas
11-14-2015, 02:41 PM
I certanly hope they will continue its developement. It is very usefull, no matter what 3DCC software you use as a base.

Even if it gets implemented in LW in some form, granted, LW-users will not need it... thing is... there are plenty of users/studios out there, not using LW, that could make use of Chronosculpt, especially if LW3DG can showcase that they are developing the product.

If LW3DG doesn't, it's their loss.

yeah that too :) That is a market to consider.

jeric_synergy
11-14-2015, 03:03 PM
I don't think the forums are monitored by Technical Assistance at all: have you directly contacted LW3dG thru your account page? (Sorry if this has been answered.)

Airwaves
11-14-2015, 04:17 PM
yeah with all the huge changes I can bet that CS will be incorporated inside of layout. . .some year. That way we can use more high performance animation tools along with the point cache editing.

If that is the case maybe I will wait before purchasing. See what the next version of Lightwave has before I buy chronosculpt. I am also finding this is amazing software but not completely necessary for what I do but it does save me time on certain things like dynamics.

Luc_Feri
11-16-2015, 07:26 AM
That's it Airwaves exactly, it is a very useful tool as it stands but not essential.

jasonwestmas
11-16-2015, 08:17 AM
If that is the case maybe I will wait before purchasing. See what the next version of Lightwave has before I buy chronosculpt. I am also finding this is amazing software but not completely necessary for what I do but it does save me time on certain things like dynamics.

ChronoSculpt does do a bang up job now however for fixing things and creating some interesting effects by hand. My original point was to point out the fact that it would be far more useful if there were more deformers available in CS such as joints, constraints and field weighting and weight maps. Granted one must keep poly counts and LODs manageable when dealing with with complex setups.

Snosrap
12-02-2015, 08:42 PM
Did you guys end up getting it for free like others who upgraded or purchased LW2015? :)

Airwaves
12-05-2015, 06:21 PM
Did you guys end up getting it for free like others who upgraded or purchased LW2015? :)

I got it in mine for the licenses I paid for. Awesome Thanksgiving if you ask me!

jasonwestmas
12-16-2015, 07:55 PM
I would like to know if they will continue with Chronosculpt as well. I am very close to making a purchase but am concerned and have several questions about what will happen to it if I buy it and it becomes part of Lightwave 2016. For now I will try the 30 day trial and see how it goes. I make lots of videos with dynamics in them and while they are little kid videos and not too complex it would be nice to edit things like soft body dynamics.

Right now I have a sheep being launched into a pillow and I have spent 12 hours changing settings trying to not let it go through it or bounce off. I think Chronosculpt would help with this I am hoping.

If you dont need to edit point cache today there is no reason to buy into CS anyway.

mummyman
12-16-2015, 08:26 PM
If you dont need to edit point cache today there is no reason to buy into CS anyway.

True! But it does make a great morph target tool. So it's not only for editing point caches! It shreds through high poly count objects for sculpting too. Very happy with it so far.

jasonwestmas
12-17-2015, 07:57 AM
True! But it does make a great morph target tool. So it's not only for editing point caches! It shreds through high poly count objects for sculpting too. Very happy with it so far.

yeah morphs are an even more common technology to implement. In CS I was able to create a TPOSE delta from a cached pose, for use in a corrective morph. Unfortunately Layout doesn't handle true correctives very well.

genesis1
02-17-2016, 04:00 AM
I think Chronosculpt is a bit of a god send in some ways, especially for me recently where I had rigged a character and then noticed an awkward arm twitch in the middle of tge animation. Sent it over to Chrono and fixed in an instant. Also you can add a bit more realism by tweeking certain movements. Its a shame if its dead on developement. Its like Faceshift. Thats a really good software for face animation using the kinnect or similar. Except Apple bought it, the developers said ta very much, and now you can't download/buy the product anymore.
Sad when really great software goes this way.

digitaldoc
08-03-2016, 09:12 PM
Crickets chirping.......................................... .........

jeric_synergy
08-04-2016, 12:34 PM
Are there tutes from the Chronosculpt vendor? :eek:

Greenlaw
08-04-2016, 03:56 PM
I think they have some YouTube videos.

But there are actually very few controls in Chronosculpt and it's really easy to use.

The one limitation I ran into with CS was that it doesn't understand rotation, so if you're trying to get selected debris in a bullet sim to spin in a different direction, you can't do that with this tool. It's great for everything else though and really fast with dense meshes and big mdd files.

Snosrap
08-04-2016, 06:24 PM
Yep, it's invaluable for stopping the jitters in your sims as well as stopping things just at the right time. Also super easy to use - no tuts necessary.