PDA

View Full Version : New to Lightwave

jimmymac
10-21-2015, 06:42 PM
Hi Everyone:

I'm new to the thread and am still learning Lightwave 2015. I came from Caligari and 3DSmax6. I recently upgraded the whole computer and now have Windows 8.1.

I don't have a question yet, but I do have something I found out.

When I first got Lightwave, Layout and modeler would not switch over. I searched online and talked to Support; unfortunately, I still couldn't get the two to switch. I found out later that my ASUS computer has a gaming program called ROP Gamesfirst III. It worked in the background. I turned it off, and now the Layout and Modeler switch over with no problem.

So, if anyone has the same problem, and they have an ASUS, and they tried the firewalls and reinstall fixes then I hope this helps.

Take care;

Jim

ernpchan
10-21-2015, 06:57 PM
Thanks for sharing this info.

jeric_synergy
10-21-2015, 07:25 PM
Yikes! Thanks for that info-- soooooooo weird. GREAT tip, great because "totally obscure". :thumbsup:

If there's a central repository for advice about switching back and forth -- I'm assuming you mean the "F12" switch-- without the Hub, I'd be very happy to read it.

madno
10-21-2015, 10:15 PM
Good hint,

could be that the tcp ports which LW components want to use to communicate with each other, are blocked by the other software.

jeric_synergy
10-22-2015, 12:04 AM
Good hint,
could be that the tcp ports which LW components want to use to communicate with each other, are blocked by the other software.
How does one determine which ports those are?

madno
10-22-2015, 05:40 AM
Not sure what your question means.
But in general:
Communication between processes takes place using a port and an IP address.