PDA

View Full Version : 2015.3 image Sequence-Composite frame rate bug



himani
10-15-2015, 09:55 PM
Hey all... Just a heads up. I'm loading image sequences into the compositing panel, and using 23.976 as a frame rate has been broken by V 2015.3 on both the Mac and PC.
Still works in 2015.2, but dropping and holding frames in v.3.
24 fps for project and image sequence still works fine in 2015.3, but drop frame has become a mess..... Just to let you know. (I made an image sequence frame numbered 1 to 50 to check....)
Would really like to get back to TV standard of 23.967 and hopefully QT files instead of image sequences again. Thanks! - KK

jeric_synergy
10-15-2015, 10:25 PM
What tv format uses 23.967? SECAM? PAL?

ivanze
10-16-2015, 09:25 AM
You can use QT files in LW 2015 without problem.

himani
10-16-2015, 11:35 AM
Sorry, my typo. 23.976.... NTSC. All TV going into the Avid with a sound mix. I was tired last night! :-)

I'll try and test QT. In the past, they were a problem, so we switched our method to stills.

Thanks! - KK

jeric_synergy
10-16-2015, 12:02 PM
Huh. As an old video guy (emph on "old") I always thought of NTSC as 29.97, but your question has educated me that the 24P NTSC frame rate is 23.976.

Learn sumthin' every day, dagnabit. --And yeah, in general and I don't know why, traditionally there's been issues with frame rate when using QT with LW: stills are the safe way to go, but bloody inconvenient, no? Harrumph.

himani
10-16-2015, 02:01 PM
Okay, here's the deal...

in 2015.2, image sequence and project set at 23.976 fps - Works perfect
2015.2 QT and project both at 23.976 fps - drops 1 frame every 24... Drop frame fps is broken or not recognized

In 2015.3 with image sequence and project set at 23.976 - Frames are both held, and some dropped.
2015.3 QT and project both at 23.976 - Frames are both held, and some dropped.

I receive material from editorial in 23.976 and first noticed this as I was trying to Projection map the sequence onto some geometry. I was getting a strange "back and forth" effect.
I think projection map had the same error as the background composite images, but I'd have to run specific tests to see if it was the same exact error or not.

jeric_synergy
10-16-2015, 02:45 PM
Bug report it. (Your account page on lightwave3d.com .)

It's odd how bugs creep back into builds. I wonder how that happens.