PDA

View Full Version : Should I upgrade with this current sale?



Schwyhart
10-13-2015, 03:19 PM
I have a license of LW v9, but have been using MODO since 701.
However, since the blog posts about LW2016 it's made me wonder if I should upgrade my v9 license to 2015 or just wait and see what the upgrade price would be for v9>2016.

If I understand correctly...if I upgrade during this promotion, I can get 2015 for $395 and will get 'preferential' pricing when 2016 comes out and for future upgrades?
So I assume when 2016 comes out, it would cost me $495+ to upgrade from v9 and I wouldn't get 'preferential' pricing on future releases. And since my version is so old, I may not be able to upgrade at all. I might have to buy a full license again (If this is the case, then I'll forgo having a license of LW).

So in my situation, what would some of the other LW users do?

Thanks

pinkmouse
10-13-2015, 03:28 PM
Frankly, just upgrading to 2015 from v9 is well worth the money,even if you don't go on to get 2016 .

hrgiger
10-13-2015, 04:39 PM
Actually if you wait to upgrade and don't take advantage of the promotion, your upgrade will cost you $795 and then after that point you would be locked into the $295 upgrade price as long as you stayed current. Once 2016, the new upgrade from an older version then the current one will be $795.

That's the issue people are facing. Either pay $395 now and get the 2016 release for $295 for a total of $690.

Or...

Wait til 2016 comes out, pay $795 to get 2016.

Basically, by buying now, you'd be saving $100. Just up to you if it's worth it.

https://www.lightwave3d.com/crossgrade_promo/

Schwyhart
10-13-2015, 04:43 PM
$295? Wouldn't be $395?

Surrealist.
10-13-2015, 04:45 PM
I have a license of LW v9, but have been using MODO since 701.
However, since the blog posts about LW2016 it's made me wonder if I should upgrade my v9 license to 2015 or just wait and see what the upgrade price would be for v9>2016.

If I understand correctly...if I upgrade during this promotion, I can get 2015 for $395 and will get 'preferential' pricing when 2016 comes out and for future upgrades?
So I assume when 2016 comes out, it would cost me $495+ to upgrade from v9 and I wouldn't get 'preferential' pricing on future releases. And since my version is so old, I may not be able to upgrade at all. I might have to buy a full license again (If this is the case, then I'll forgo having a license of LW).

So in my situation, what would some of the other LW users do?

Thanks

There is a fairly large thread on this.

But the bottom line is this.

When 2016 comes out, upgrades from any previous version (pre 2015) version will be 795. So you would pay 795 to upgrade to 2016 from v9.

However if you are with a current version (2015 in this case) Version 2016 will cost you 295.

So no matter what you do you will either pay 395 plus 295 to get to version 2016. Or after the promotion I think it goes back to 495. Or you just wait and pay 795. Do the math. :)

Either way it is only about 100 USD difference.

hrgiger
10-13-2015, 04:46 PM
Oh sorry I see you're still on version 9 so you wouldn't have a charter price. Either way whether you buy now then or wait until 2016, you'll pay the same amount.

Schwyhart
10-13-2015, 04:51 PM
If it's $295, I'd be able to get 2016 for $690 (in two payments) instead of $795 in one payment. And I'm not even sure its worth it if I'm already using MODO.

Do you think they'll stick to that? or is this just another marketing gimmick.
It's crazy how their mistake with CORE from 6 years ago, I think, is still affecting my outlook on them as a company.

Schwyhart
10-13-2015, 04:55 PM
Sorry, I was writing the last post before you guys posted. Didn't read until after.

Cageman
10-13-2015, 04:56 PM
The real question you should ask yourself is... Is the upgrade from 9.x to 2015 worth it?

I can say that it is, with an order of magnitude, but there are also a lot for you to get up to speed with, such as Unified Sampling (and a lot of other cool stuff).

If the "bonus" is that you will get 2016 for such a low price, I would argue that you will not loose... as long as you focus on what 2015 gives you now.

hrgiger
10-13-2015, 04:59 PM
Do you think they'll stick to that? or is this just another marketing gimmick.
It's crazy how their mistake with CORE from 6 years ago, I think, is still affecting my outlook on them as a company.

Different head of development, different approach. You can say they've made their share of mistakes but ripping off people is not one of them. What other company would guarantee the next 5 upgrades of LightWave (and now we're actually going to pay less) and just look at their track record of giving free feature releases over the years. Price and value have never been a concern with LightWave as far as I'm concerned.

Cageman
10-13-2015, 05:01 PM
Price and value have never been a concern with LightWave as far as I'm concerned.

+1

hrgiger
10-13-2015, 05:07 PM
The only other thing I would add is buying now and upgrading to 2016 later might be an easier budget, a little bit now, a little bit later rather then all at once. I can't imagine 2016 will be out much before the end of the year if not next year sometime.

Surrealist.
10-13-2015, 05:24 PM
It's crazy how their mistake with CORE from 6 years ago, I think, is still affecting my outlook on them as a company.

I know what you mean. I think they have been doing a real good job turning things around under new management.

I would say in general upgrading would be based on your pocket book. On the long haul, if you can afford it, my gut feeling is it will be a good investment. Things are a little tight for me now. So that informs everything I do. But I am liking what I hearing so far and this new tech looks very promising. :)

rcallicotte
10-13-2015, 05:38 PM
I agree with this for a different reason, though I agree with pinkmouse about 2015 being a very good value - because then future upgrades to the very cool stuff coming down the river to us will be what I think seems to be a good value.


Frankly, just upgrading to 2015 from v9 is well worth the money,even if you don't go on to get 2016 .

Schwyhart
10-15-2015, 10:32 AM
I decided to upgrade just to ensure I can get 2016 at a lower cost. Hopefully modeler gets easier to use. I'm used to modeling in perspective in MODO. Idk how I could go back to modeling in multiple views.

Snosrap
10-15-2015, 10:55 AM
I decided to upgrade just to ensure I can get 2016 at a lower cost. Hopefully modeler gets easier to use. I'm used to modeling in perspective in MODO. Idk how I could go back to modeling in multiple views. You won't regret it. You'll find LW2015 much more adapt at modeling in perspective now with the Transform tool.

Bytehawk
10-15-2015, 02:05 PM
I decided to upgrade based on the idea to eventually get to play with Antti 's (hey there Antti !) new render engine and with the integrated modeling tools we so clearly need.

Schwyhart
10-16-2015, 07:34 PM
You won't regret it. You'll find LW2015 much more adapt at modeling in perspective now with the Transform tool.

Is there a tutorial that shows how to use this tool?
Another thing I sincerely gets added is a transform/rotate/scale gizmo in Modeler...if there isn't one already. I'm just now exploring.

Snosrap
10-16-2015, 08:26 PM
Is there a tutorial that shows how to use this tool?
Another thing I sincerely gets added is a transform/rotate/scale gizmo in Modeler...if there isn't one already. I'm just now exploring.

That's what I'm talking about "Transform" on the "Modify" tab in Modeler. See attached. I've set it to "w" on my keyboard.

130374

Schwyhart
10-16-2015, 08:45 PM
Just played with the transform tool and it's not quite there. Mainly because there aren't 'Action Centers' as they're called in MODO. Not to compare it to another software though.
Hopefully with v2016, or the most v2017, this will be improved upon.

Snosrap
10-16-2015, 09:38 PM
Just played with the transform tool and it's not quite there. Mainly because there aren't 'Action Centers' as they're called in MODO. Not to compare it to another software though.
Hopefully with v2016, or the most v2017, this will be improved upon. Yep I know what you mean. If you shift click or right click with the tool active you can align the gizmo to points, polys or edges. And if you ctrl click you can arbitrarily grab and move and rotate the widget and put it wherever you want. I still prefer Modo's way, but for now this isn't to bad.