PDA

View Full Version : Output color space set to RGB - why renders are faster?

federicosibella
10-13-2015, 02:13 AM
Good morning,

I'm an italian vfx student and I'm actually following a Lightwave course. Honestly I'm more into digital compositing rather than 3D, but since it's a generalist course I've to dive into Lightwave. It scares me! A lot, but the keypoint of my first thread is all the mess around color spaces. My teacher explained that from version 11.5 the contrast's computations for adaptive sampling (no idea what do all these words mean, just refering what I've written down in my notes!) is calculated in RGB space and not in linear space as before. Here I didn't get what does "contrast's computations" mean and above all: Are All the other color informations calculated in RGB too? I thought the internal calculations of Lightwave were in linear color space! So confused about this! Another point pretty unclear is the relations between this innovation (Output Color space set to RGB) and the threshold value for camera sampling. Why should I reduce the threshold? Or even better: What the heck does the threshold do?

I should know more about this stuff because it woun't get better in future lessons

Thanks for your kindness and time, I beg your pardon for my poor english.

Regards

Federico

RebelHill
10-13-2015, 05:25 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgNB9tZWUmM

federicosibella
10-13-2015, 07:42 AM
Thanks so much for this great reply, wanna follow the entire tuts! :D

federicosibella
10-13-2015, 09:55 AM