PDA

View Full Version : Repeatable pattern



Tony3d
09-23-2015, 10:46 AM
Hi All, I need this pattern to perfectly repeat over the length of my straight object. No matter how many times I crop it, I can't get to repeat perfectly. I have Pixelmatr, but don't know how this is done. Can someone show me an easy way to do this? Thanks.

Wade
09-23-2015, 10:52 AM
please stand by - 1 min or 2 min.

Wade
09-23-2015, 10:58 AM
129865 It is fairly straight forward your image just needs to have an edge where it starts again. This should work.

Wade
09-23-2015, 11:01 AM
The crop is made at the center of each X so where on X ends < the other on the tiled image starts > so you get >< or <> . This works in the the horizontal and Vertical.

Wade
09-23-2015, 11:05 AM
129866
And if you want more image to better get an idea of what you are looking at here is a larger crop.

Tony3d
09-23-2015, 12:36 PM
My God it's that easy? Thanks everyone. Just not cropping it right. Now I get it!

shrox
09-23-2015, 01:29 PM
My God it's that easy? Thanks everyone. Just not cropping it right. Now I get it!

Maybe should lay off the brass and vacuum tube art for a while, it's clouding your brain! All those fumes...

I don't know if you've come across this, but with cylindrical and spherical mapping, you can adjust the tiling itself rather than the map size.

Don't feel dumb, I just learned a decade old feature yesterday...

Wade
09-23-2015, 05:31 PM
As much as I use Lightwave and photoshop I think I only use or know about 10% - like my brain. :)

jeric_synergy
09-23-2015, 05:36 PM
Here's a tip: TILE catalogs have a lot of patterns that tessellate cleanly without looking like simple squares.

Tony3d
09-24-2015, 06:59 AM
Maybe should lay off the brass and vacuum tube art for a while, it's clouding your brain! All those fumes...

I don't know if you've come across this, but with cylindrical and spherical mapping, you can adjust the tiling itself rather than the map size.

Don't feel dumb, I just learned a decade old feature yesterday...

You Know I had tried that, and it adjusted the tiling alright, but i could never get rid of the mismatch. It just seemed to move it to another spot.