PDA

View Full Version : I'm missing fbx exporter in modeler and layout



fineartist
09-18-2015, 11:28 AM
Hi guys,

I updated to 2015 a month ago (on my mac) and need to export a model from modeler as a fbx format, but it's missing in the list. I tried to load the valkrye plug in but it says it can't (and get message 0 plug in in 1 file)

I know I'm missing something, any ideas?

Thanks

rcallicotte
09-19-2015, 06:57 AM
Really? We can't export FBX in 2015? I have been thinking about upgrading and this seems odd.

clintonman
09-19-2015, 08:34 AM
You can try downloading a fresh copy of Lightwave and installing it again.

DesertRat
09-19-2015, 11:32 AM
fineartist, are you on a Mac? And if so, which OS? I remember testing 2015 on 10.6 and having the same issue. If I remember correctly, customer support said that plugin requires 10.8 or higher. I have since upgraded my OS but haven't tested yet.

rcallicotte
09-19-2015, 03:13 PM
Oh, good. I found this on the Lightwave3D site - "LightWave fits seamlessly into large multi-software pipelines - with its powerful interchange tools including FBX, ZBrush GoZ, Collada, Unity Game Engine Support, and Autodesk Geometry Cache." Whew.

fineartist
10-25-2015, 07:14 PM
Yep DesertRat, had to upgrade to get it to work. Newtek customer service was wonderful helping me figure this out. Gave me a excuse to buy the new Imac with 5k, LOVE IT! :)