PDA

View Full Version : Substance Painter/Designer.

JohnMarchant
09-07-2015, 02:47 AM
Hi All,

Well got myself some nice new software and looking for tips/help in using it with LightWave.

Substance Painter and the whole PBR thing looks great, i just got Substance Indie and would appreciate any guidance for using it within LW. What is the workflow, i realise it seems to be export OBJ from LW and import into SP. Are there any nodes available for PBR in LW.

Any help will be great i can see SP being another great tool like ZBrush for using with LW.

Marander
09-07-2015, 06:52 AM
Hi

You can directly open LWO in Substance.

Here's a node I modified for PBR (modified compound node from substance forum). I guess there are better ways but it works for me.

JohnMarchant
09-07-2015, 07:09 AM
I did not know that, i could not see a drop down for LWO, only the usual OBJ, 3DS and the like.

Thanks very much for the node as well, very handy as im new to Substance. Is this in Painter or Designer. Sorry for the stupid questions.

Marander
09-07-2015, 07:45 AM
Hi John, I use this for 3D-Coat and Substance Painter. Maybe it works for Designer too but haven't really done too much in it. Lots of potential in SD but also quite complex.

JohnMarchant
09-07-2015, 08:15 AM
Yes its complex but nodes are what we all have to get into, be it in LW or others, so its a learning curve but needs to be done.

So you use 3D Coat, i have it but hardly done anything with it as my work now has not really been organic or character driven.

If you would not mind can you give the the basic workflow you use for LW to SP.

I also found out that there is indeed a LWO option in new project, really need to read the online manual more and get some more videos.

Is there an option to download the Manuals from Algorithmic, i can only see online versions.

Thanks very much for your help, ive already learnt something i did not know.

Regards, John

Marander
09-07-2015, 09:35 AM
Welcome!