PDA

View Full Version : Intersecting Edges: creative / artistic use thereof? -- Mograph possibiities.

jeric_synergy
08-25-2015, 08:57 AM
I'm not an artistic person (except for UI considerations, beyotches!) but when I watched Lino's presentation on 2015 Edges:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_R3wBU80og

...it struck me that the INTERSECTION EDGES facility needed to be trumpeted a bit. It's different (tmk) from traditional LW Edges in that it's the intersection of TWO DIFFERENT OBJECTS, not just the geometry of ONE object. Which means that any motion you can concoct with intersection objects can result in a moving line on a surface.

Here's the simplest possible example: a VPR screenie . In the actual LWS the gears are rotating.

Imagine a "wavey cylinder": as it passes thru a plane, the intersecting Edge would be a growing/contracting ring. Make the cylindar a toroid and it'll loop.

For more 'graphic' oriented animators I think INTERSECTION EDGES offer a wealth of possibilities.

(I'm not artistic, but I've had luck managing artistic people.)

ernpchan
08-25-2015, 09:26 AM
Yes, this feature is a fantastic new addition. It would be great if they added the ability to exclude objects from others so you don't get unwanted edge drawing.

jeric_synergy
08-25-2015, 09:28 AM
One thing at a time, young Jedi.....

What's Baker's Conundrum? Something about the best features generating the most feature requests.....

jeric_synergy
08-25-2015, 10:31 AM
Well, crap, now you got me started thinking about it:

How about if Edge color could be defined by the intersecting object, not the "display" object. Heck, probably they can with nodes. That would be a good tutorial.

I guessing YES (it seems a pretty safe bet), so: How can you tag an object so that you can easily control which color it manifests when it intersects the display object? Give it an identifier THAT WON'T CHANGE IF YOU ADD ITEMS to the scene??

jeric_synergy
08-26-2015, 08:11 PM