PDA

View Full Version : LW 7.5 update install problem?!

brandon
03-06-2003, 10:15 AM
Hi everyone, I am new to lightwave (just got 7 a bout 1-2 weeks ago) and i noticed that NewTek has a free update to 7.5 on their site.... so i downloaded it, but it wont install.

Here is the problem: When i dbl click the .exe everything unpacks and then ms installer starts up, but then closes and gives me the following msg- " ERROR 1608: Failed to Create Install Driver Instance" - I am using w2k w/sp2 ntfs (if more sys info is required just ask).

I did a search on google for that error and tried the different fixes, but none worked. Every other program i have installs just fine, even lightwave 7. its just the 7.5 update giving me this error.

I even tried a w2k repair, but no go. I really dont want to have to format and install again :(

Thanks in advance for any and all help :)

WCameron
03-06-2003, 11:27 AM
i think this is a broken download, or a broken installer
error.

try this:

Select the exe file, right click on it and Extract it to a directory.
move into the directory and try installing it from there instead of
letting it happen automatically from a temp directory.

sometimes that works.

otherwise possibly redownloading it again might help.

- Will.

brandon
03-06-2003, 12:00 PM
Thanks, i never thought to try it that way.

brandon
03-06-2003, 01:41 PM
Well, i called mt girlfreind(she is at home today) and walked her through Wcameron's suggestion. still got the same error. So i told her to delete them and redownload the update, and try again, but it still gave the same error :(

Stewpot
03-06-2003, 03:32 PM
Hi

Make sure you don't have the hub running. This caused a problem for me.

3D|Dave
03-07-2003, 12:19 AM
I found that the update needs to "see" a local C drive or it errors out. Could this be the case?

brandon
03-07-2003, 09:52 AM
3D|Dave: What do you meen by "see" a local C drive?

Stewpot: Hub is not running during my install attmpts. But thatnks for the advice :)