PDA

View Full Version : billboard orientation via nodal motion, anyone?



3dworks
08-04-2015, 03:51 AM
i need to setup a nodal network for controlling the orientation of billboard planes (only X/Z rotation is needed) which needs to face the active camera? i guess the starting point would be a 'nodal motion' modifier in motion options for the billboard object. if i open that node, the input options are position, rotation and scale. how can i calculate the rotation value when the object needs to face the active/render camera?

please does anyone experienced with nodes have some input about how to do the math and what nodes i need to use?

cheers

markus

3dworks
08-04-2015, 04:07 AM
129127

ok i got a first version - but the main problem is how to get the ID of the current render / active camera?

RebelHill
08-04-2015, 04:27 AM
You cant get the current or active camera... only specific items. So youll either have to use the same camera, and move it from shot to shot, or reference a null instead, and animate it snapping from camera to camera.

As for getting the target behaviour of the billboard objects, you can see how to do all of that here...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZYxAF0yJyU&index=8&list=PL1C4072533A16B807

Though... tbh, since you cant dynamically get the camera via nodal, you're probably just as well off using the standard targeting feature in motion options.

3dworks
08-04-2015, 07:06 AM
yes i wanted to overcome exactly THAT limitation. it's shame we can't access the current camera ID... please NT, listen ;-)

RebelHill
08-04-2015, 07:52 AM
Hmm... here's a thought of an UGLY hack that may (or may not) work.

Since you can use the camera node to get info on the current camera, though not it's item ID, position, etc, then it *might* be possible to pipe through that way.

The attributes of things like focal distance, eye separation and blur length are available, and also, can be enveloped. If you're NOT using motionblur, stereo, dof in your render, then you could try setting up expressions that feed the cameras own X,Y,Z individually to each of these scalar channels, and pull those in nodal to reconstruct the position vector, thus, in theory, yielding the current camera position.

Sensei
08-04-2015, 10:36 AM
but the main problem is how to get the ID of the current render / active camera?

See this video tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbrlhMfIgPU


yes i wanted to overcome exactly THAT limitation. it's shame we can't access the current camera ID... please NT, listen ;-)

We can ;)

RebelHill
08-04-2015, 11:10 AM
We can

Ahh... Id not seen that addition, and was only familiar with your previous version render info node.

http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug-Ins/TrueArt%20Node%20Library/Graphics/TANL_RenderInfo_1.png

In which case... yep, that'll do it.

3dworks
08-04-2015, 12:48 PM
thanks to both of you! sensei, i DID check your 'truearts node library' nodes, but in my render info node there is no render camera connection.

sensei, maybe i need to download latest version or is this a mac limitation? could you please post a link to the latest version here? V 0.25 here...

i LOVE this great community :-)

markus

RebelHill
08-04-2015, 12:50 PM
lmgtfy ;)

http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/TrueArt%20Node%20Library

Once you have the latest version, that output is an item ID, so wire that to the item input of an extended item info node (TA or DP), from there, get the positions, etc... as per the tut video I posted above.

3dworks
08-04-2015, 01:16 PM
probably i'm not seeing the render camera connection because the mac version is 0.25 and the windows version is already at 0.33! only macs here...

-> please sensei, if you have time, can you update the mac version to V 0.33? :-)

THANK YOU!!!

markus

3dworks
08-06-2015, 03:07 PM
-> please sensei, if you have time, can you update the mac version to V 0.33? :-)


sensei, any word on this? ;-)

cheers

markus

Sensei
08-08-2015, 01:32 PM
Try this
http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug-Ins/TrueArt%20Node%20Library/Files/TrueArt_NodeLibrary_0_33_MacUB.zip
I am not receiving notifications from this thread from forum server..
Disabled ColorSpaceConverting nodes.

3dworks
08-08-2015, 02:14 PM
Try this
http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug-Ins/TrueArt%20Node%20Library/Files/TrueArt_NodeLibrary_0_33_MacUB.zip
I am not receiving notifications from this thread from forum server..
Disabled ColorSpaceConverting nodes.

sensei, thank you so much, your support is really appreciated! :thumbsup:

cheers

markus