PDA

View Full Version : DISSOLVE versus DISSOLVE LOOP -- same routine?



jeric_synergy
08-01-2015, 04:02 PM
in my install of 11.6.3 there's a DISSOLVE and a DISSOLVE LOOP.

Are these the same functions? Is DISSOLVE just the native version of the old EDGE PACK tools?

Thanks.

prometheus
08-01-2015, 06:01 PM
in my install of 11.6.3 there's a DISSOLVE and a DISSOLVE LOOP.

Are these the same functions? Is DISSOLVE just the native version of the old EDGE PACK tools?

Thanks.

if you pick edges in a none straight loop...that is if you selected edges continuously, but with a change in direction and then use dissolve would yield a dissolve in that selected directions, the dissolve loop will not follow the same path.

hard to explain, but they donīt seem the same on such tests, on simple edge loop I canīt see any difference though.

divide a flat poly a couple of times then select a couple of polys in s shape for example on that, then run dissolve while still in poly mode..it will have the same effect as merge polygons, if you were to use dissolve loop..it would go all wonky.

jeric_synergy
08-01-2015, 08:02 PM
So "Dissolve" is "Dissolve EDGES", while "Dissolve Loop" attempts to find a loop. Got it, thanks.