PDA

View Full Version : Basic Modeling - But I'm stuck trying to connect rectangle to ring

unstable
07-26-2015, 08:59 AM
I'm trying to make something similar to the 'goal' picture. But as you can see, I can't seem to do this without distorting the circular shape. I've included the LW object as well if that helps. Looking for some guidance on how to connect these two and retain the shape in subd. BTW, I'm using 11.6

prometheus
07-26-2015, 09:50 AM
I'm trying to make something similar to the 'goal' picture. But as you can see, I can't seem to do this without distorting the circular shape. I've included the LW object as well if that helps. Looking for some guidance on how to connect these two and retain the shape in subd. BTW, I'm using 11.6

Im no expert in subdiv modeling, but I can see that you have triangles in the circle part where it connects with the other part, try keep only quads as you have on the rest of the main circular shape, I tested to select those edges and dissolve them, then selected the parts that consequently became ngons, and then hit shift-t to triple those part, then merge trigons..that gave a better result retaining the shape, but with some pinching at the area where it joins with the other part, you could probably manually fix it but I havenīt had the time to try.

hereīs my fix..not perfect, and it is only made on half the part, so you can mirror it or try fixing the pinching.

A typical modeling task better suited for cad tools, with no nead to figure out how edges or polys are flowing.

image showing which edges I used dissolve on...but you have to reconstruct the connection within the flat area that is directly connected to the other part...
http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=129046&d=1437926814

unstable
07-26-2015, 10:17 AM