PDA

View Full Version : More precise motion from a curve??



TSpyrison
12-04-2003, 01:40 PM
Is there any way to get more resolution from converting a path to a motion?
Iíve got a curve in modeler that Iíve used to extrude my train tracks with. When I convert that curve to a motion path, I get places where itís not perfectly aligned with the track, even thought its the same one I used for extruding. Is there a way to get a more precise motion from a path?

Thanks
Tom

SplineGod
12-06-2003, 04:13 AM
select the point at the head of the spline.
Copy and paste it into a background layer.
With the point selected hit the p key to make it a single point poly.
Now with the spline in the background layer, rail extrude the point and set it for uniform lengths and how many segments you want. This will create a string of 2 point polys that are equally spaced. I use a free plugin from DStorms site called Polys2Curves that will convert every 2 point poly to a spline. I then select all the little splines and hit shift z to merge them all into a single spline curve with points equally spaced out along it.

TSpyrison
12-08-2003, 07:34 AM
(In my best Mr. Burns impressionÖ)
Excellent..


:D