PDA

View Full Version : Can't change interface colors in OSX???



little5points
12-04-2003, 12:01 PM
I've looked through the posts here and on CGTalk to change the interface colors (I sure hope this is an option in 8)

I've followed the steps...
1. Open up "Lightwave Hub Prefs" (Hub and LW was closed)

2. Pasted in this bit....
ActionButtonColor 143 143 143
BackgroundColor 143 143 143
DialogButtonColor 194 194 194
DragButtonColor 155 155 165
InfoAreaTextColor 0 0 0
InfoAreaColor 143 143 143
StateButtonColor 194 194 194
ToolButtonColor 194 194 194

3. Saved the file and restarted but the interface is the same, despite the addition


Any ideas??

mlinde
12-04-2003, 04:08 PM
I never remember this. Have you tried putting the list in your Hub cmdline?

BrianW
12-04-2003, 06:56 PM
I have done some looking around and everything I find says the same thing. So I tried it, over 10 times and nothing! I have no idea but I would like to know also. It sure would be nice to change the colors!
BW

hey, I noticed that when I do paste the info in and save, and then go launch modeler the preference file gets over written and the info I pasted in there is gone?

toby
12-04-2003, 10:28 PM
hm... what you guys are doing should work, it works for me, but I have the Hub disabled anyway - maybe that's why I never ran into this.

As far as I know Preferences don't get written until you quit(?)

Make the file read-only, see if that does it

mlinde
12-04-2003, 10:54 PM
1) Make sure that Hub and all LW apps ARE NOT running
2) Make the changes to the Hub file. Realize that some buttons are not listed, and will not be affected.
3) Save the Hub Prefs file
4) Launch applications.

It worked for me, but only on some buttons. I tested the dialog buttons as RED, and they were (it was ugly too!).

These work, and noticeably:

ToolButtonColor 130 140 150
ActionButtonColor 110 120 130
DialogButtonColor 100 110 120
StateButtonColor 100 110 120
DragButtonColor 130 110 100
BackgroundColor 100 100 100
InfoAreaColor 100 100 100
InfoAreaTextColor 255 255 255

ingo
12-05-2003, 02:40 AM
I remember too that there happend nothing when i first tried it, i think you have to write it into the hub cmdline file and LW automaticly puts it into the hub preferences, but i'm not sure since i have done that a year ago. And you have to enable and start the hub of course so it can read the file.

toby
12-05-2003, 08:46 AM
Actually I never put anything into the hub cmdline, and it works without the hub running -

mlinde
12-05-2003, 09:40 AM
The correct file is (as many have corrected me in the past, and I'm getting senile) the Lightwave Hub Prefs file.

You have to put in the changes with none of the LW apps running for them to be recognized. You may (or may not) need to run the Hub, but the color changes have to be in the Hub Prefs. If it doesn't work the first launch, quit and launch again.

little5points
12-05-2003, 04:10 PM
Ok...like I mentioned in the original post, I had all LW apps closed, including the hub.

Changing the "LightWave Hub prefs" file did nothing. Here is the exact text:
ActionButtonColor 143 143 143
BackgroundColor 143 143 143
DialogButtonColor 194 194 194
DragButtonColor 155 155 165
InfoAreaTextColor 0 0 0
InfoAreaColor 143 143 143
StateButtonColor 194 194 194
ToolButtonColor 194 194 194
FileRequesterServer $Default
ColorPickerServer $Default
LanguageID 409
TimeOptionsIndex 0
SaveClientIndex 0
AppConfig ContentDirectory <path>Content:

Now, here's the funny thing. Adding these color changes to the "LW Modeler 3 Prefs" file will change the interface colors when I open modeler. But when I quit and restart, the color changes disappear.

JackDeL
12-05-2003, 06:17 PM
Make sure when you save your prefs file that it is saved in .txt format and not richtext.:p