PDA

View Full Version : more than one surface in one layer (FBX-Export)



Wicht
06-23-2015, 11:47 PM
Hi

I am using Lightwave 11.6.3.
I created two surfaces in one layer, made two different uv-maps and exported the mesh into FBX.
If i open the FBX in Unity, only one surface is used. The other surface is ignored. The same counts for additional surfaces.

Now i tried the Trial of Lightwave 2015. Same issue.
I tried it in Lightwave 9.6.1. There it works.

When i move the second geometry with the second surface into a second layer, everything is fine (LW 11.6.3). But this is not a real solution. When i create a character model and want to use an additional surface for the head, i can not move the head-geometry into another layer because i get hard borders between the head and the body.

Has anyone a solution?

Thanks

meshpig
06-24-2015, 12:52 AM
The second UV map is ignored. Use the one map for all surfaces.

Wicht
06-24-2015, 01:05 AM
Thank you. It worked.
But why is there such a difference in LW9 and LW11?

meshpig
06-24-2015, 01:09 AM
I think you just might have gotten it confused as nothing has changed FBX/Unity-wise, easy to do :)

Wicht
06-24-2015, 04:31 AM
Like i said in the post above. There is a difference between LW9 and LW11.
By the way: It is no fun to unwrap a head while the uvs of the body are in the same place (same uvmap).

meshpig
06-24-2015, 04:48 AM
Use "Make UV's" and add the unwrap to the main map. Doesn't matter if on another layer it writes to the designated map.

128692

Wicht
06-24-2015, 11:26 AM
I wrote with the Technical Support and they made a bug report.
Hopefully it will be a bugfix for LW11.x.

meshpig
06-24-2015, 11:13 PM
The only thing I can think of otherwise is between 9x and 11x the FBX plugin changed with the 64bit release.

jwiede
06-25-2015, 03:45 AM
I wrote with the Technical Support and they made a bug report.
Hopefully it will be a bugfix for LW11.x.

Once LW3DG release a new LW version, historically that marks the end of updates for prior versions. Could still happen, of course, but probably not worth holding your breath for further LW11 updates.

Mr. Wilde
06-27-2015, 05:34 AM
Unity 5 supports more than 2 uv maps per mesh, btw.

Wicht
08-10-2015, 02:13 AM
Hi

After some mails with the Newtek Support... there is a new option in the Layout-FBX-Exporter: "Merge UVs".
If this option is enabled (available in 2015.3), all your uvmaps are merged into a single one which is exported with the fbx file.
Unfortunately this option is not available in Modeler. But they will include it in a future version.

MarcusM
08-10-2015, 03:11 AM
Many materials in one layers work in Unity. Two UV's also work in Unity (for example for secondary albedo and normal map in Unity shader). First UV "UV0", second "UV1".

2015.3 nice to know

Wicht
08-10-2015, 03:43 AM
Do not confuse uvmap with uvset.

lardbros
08-10-2015, 03:47 AM
2015.3 is available now in my account... they kept that one very quiet!!! :D

MarcusM
08-10-2015, 03:47 AM
In this models i used two uv maps, one for AO and second for detail:
http://marekmajchrzak.blogspot.com/2015/08/blog-post_4.html

Wicht
08-10-2015, 04:14 AM
Do a test:

- create two boxes in ONE layer
- give these two boxes a separate material and a separate uvmap
- export to fbx

You will see that Unity shows only the first uvmap.

MarcusM
08-10-2015, 04:22 AM
Do a test:

- create two boxes in ONE layer
- give these two boxes a separate material and a separate uvmap
- export to fbx

You will see that Unity shows only the first uvmap.

This is not working in this way. Separate/second UV map in one object or layer is for something else what you want.

MarcusM
08-10-2015, 04:26 AM
This is not working in this way. Separate/second UV map in one object or layer is for something else what you want.

You can have few materials, differnet textures using the same UV map.

gerry_g
08-10-2015, 04:39 AM
Many materials in one layers work in Unity. Two UV's also work in Unity (for example for secondary albedo and normal map in Unity shader). First UV "UV0", second "UV1".


If I remember this is the answer if you are using 9.6.3, UV offset, using LW's primary UV tile (UDIM_1) for the main map and and offsetting to UDIM_2 then 3 & 4 etc so as everything is on the same UV map but just relocated to it's own tile in UV space

Wicht
08-10-2015, 04:53 AM
The Newtek-Support told me:

In LW 9.x they merged the available uvmaps automatically at FBX-Export.
In LW11.x and 2015.x they kept the uvmaps in the FBX-Export.

@MarcusM:


This is not working in this way. Separate/second UV map in one object or layer is for something else what you want.

Sure. It is working this way because 2015.3 has the option "merge UVs".

MarcusM
08-10-2015, 05:44 AM
The Newtek-Support told me:

In LW 9.x they merged the available uvmaps automatically at FBX-Export.
In LW11.x and 2015.x they kept the uvmaps in the FBX-Export.

@MarcusM:



Sure. It is working this way because 2015.3 has the option "merge UVs".

You using Unity 5 with new shaders right?

Wicht
08-10-2015, 05:58 AM
You using Unity 5 with new shaders right?

Yes. But it has nothing to do with shaders.
Unity seems to use one uvmap per Submesh. If you use more than one uvmap per Submesh you will get trouble.
The solution is to merge uvmaps into a single uvmap. Then it works like expected.