PDA

View Full Version : Hotkey to cycle through layers: Next layer, Previous Layer?



MrFurious
06-23-2015, 08:09 PM
Can't seem to find a pre-existing hotkey to quickly select 'next layer' or 'previous layer, or assign them myself. Mouse clicking to select is very slow and cumbersome when working with an imported model with LOTS of layers. any ideas?

ernpchan
06-23-2015, 08:40 PM
You can use the top row number keys to set a layer. Not sure if a next/prev layer command exists. It'd be easy to script one.

What type of model are you working with that has so many layers?

jeric_synergy
06-23-2015, 10:28 PM
::look look look:: Interesting gap in the functionality.

"NEXT LAYER BANK" exists, but not "NEXT LAYER".

(Can't say I've ever missed this functionality: even if I don't have the Layers panel open, I'm so used to glancing at the layer indicator and hitting the numbers....
Never bothered learning the PShop layer hotkeys either. OTOH, I think this functionality SHOULD exist as it would easy macro creation a bit, I think.)

ernpchan
06-24-2015, 12:23 AM
Can't seem to find a pre-existing hotkey to quickly select 'next layer' or 'previous layer, or assign them myself.

I made a pair of scripts to do this.
http://www.ernestpchan.com/newtek-lightwave-scripts


Prev-Next Layer
Modeler scripts that advance forward or backwards one layer. It's recommended to map these to hotkeys.

Sensei
06-24-2015, 07:03 AM
Can't seem to find a pre-existing hotkey to quickly select 'next layer' or 'previous layer, or assign them myself. Mouse clicking to select is very slow and cumbersome when working with an imported model with LOTS of layers. any ideas?

I made plentiful of tools for layer handling, see:

Select Range Fg/Bg Layers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8OfqDz5LOw

Next/Previous Fg Layer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-XAEEWebC4
(This is what you need now)

Layers To Parts:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ae_o4GKdOd4

Layers To Surfaces:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJ4N3gDpsrU

Copy Layers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMeRgHadd74
(preserve fg selection, not merge multiple fg to one)

Save Layers To Folder:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6cIk5VhZIM

Reveal Layers (3 tools):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtBgkPTRmtU
I always very liked this tool, especially useful when used with unknown model with dozen/hundred layers.
You select polygon, and its layer is becoming foreground, and all others are bg, so still see them in wireframe.

Parts To Layers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-wXoQm5ZMA

Surfaces To Layers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QB5uKgchh1M

Duplicate Object with preservation of layer names, layer architecture etc. No merging all layers to single layer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nz-UDj8hYYY

MrFurious
06-24-2015, 09:05 AM
Ernpchan this is exactly it.. perfect did you write these scripts just now?. Also learning of 'next layer bank' is a bonus, never thought to do that. Ernpchan I often have to work with FBX or OBJ files that have been exported from cad programs. The way these cad programs work is very different to what we're used to in Lightwave.. where just about every element created is placed in it's own layer so I can open one of these files and see as many as 300+ layers! that's extreme but it's usually 50 or less. Sensei your plugins are awesome (I purchased Global Materials), but for now I only require the simple functionality of Ernpchan's scripts.

ernpchan
06-24-2015, 09:30 AM
Ernpchan this is exactly it.. perfect did you write these scripts just now?.

Yeah, I made those last night.



...I often have to work with FBX or OBJ files that have been exported from cad programs. The way these cad programs work is very different to what we're used to in Lightwave.. where just about every element created is placed in it's own layer so I can open one of these files and see as many as 300+ layers! that's extreme but it's usually 50 or less.

I actually have a script that I've been working on with another user that'll make dealing with these type of files easy-peasy. We don't have a release date/plan yet.

MrFurious
06-24-2015, 09:47 AM
Looking forward to checking that out, LW definately needs better layer management.

jeric_synergy
06-24-2015, 09:52 AM
Looking forward to checking that out, LW definately needs better layer management.
And a better Layers Panel. Classic low-hanging fruit (LHF) there.

ernpchan
06-24-2015, 09:56 AM
And a better Layers Panel. Classic low-hanging fruit (LHF) there.

That's what me and the other user are working on. It's not perfect, but compared to what we currently have it's like gold plated chocolate.

jeric_synergy
06-24-2015, 07:31 PM
Can you make it amodal? That's the big hangup of a lot of add-ons.

I did several mockups of A Better Layers Panel, back in the day.

ernpchan
06-24-2015, 08:54 PM
Can you make it amodal? That's the big hangup of a lot of add-ons.

I did several mockups of A Better Layers Panel, back in the day.

Unfortunately no. That's a limitation of the sdk. I would if I could.