PDA

View Full Version : Need Quick Help: Compression with Alpha



bradl
12-04-2003, 09:42 AM
Is there any compressed codec VT supports that handles alpha? I have a large project that won't fit my HD's as RTV's. I have converted most video to AVI with PICVideo MJPEG, but animations with alpha won't convert with this codec.

Need to do this today!

Thanks,

bradl
12-06-2003, 05:25 PM
So, am I to take this deafening silence to mean, it can't be done...

I did a little research and found very little actual reference material on the subject. It seems that one of QT's codecs may allow some compression with alpha but even that info was barely infered from the info I found...

Anybody know for sure?

ScorpioProd
12-06-2003, 11:31 PM
The only method I know that supports this is the RTB format that Bob Tasa developed for Premiere (with or without a Toaster).

With the RTB format, you can have DV compressed video with an uncompressed alpha channel as part of it. You don't want to compress the alpha channel itself, that would look bad real quick.