PDA

View Full Version : Multilayer texturing grass for games + weird OpenGL distance texture

Arch
06-04-2015, 03:28 PM
Hello. Yet another problem.

I have no idea how I can, for example, apply multiple textures to one material, so I can blend them through the others with an RGBA image or something. Multilayer texturing.

Something like that, the edge of the grass to gravel and sand. I know it's done with alpha maps and other stuff that I have no knowledge of how to do in LW or 3D in general.

Secondly, I get this terrible effect on my textures in LW because they don't have separate detail and distance maps. How to fix? It makes this "ugly grass single texture" even uglier.

EDIT: Most likely just OpenGL and not lack of maps. But if there is a fix, go ahead.

Although this is how it renders in DirectX, ie: relatively fine for being just a crap surface and tiling texture. EDIT: Better render.

Thanks a lot. This is my biggest problem. I have the artistic eye but no skill. :P

EDIT: I've also run into the problem of UVmapping the road and texturing it so it looks nice.

Arch
06-04-2015, 10:36 PM
Oh, also, I found out how to do the road. It's not as versatile as just magically making an UV onto an existing road, but it's basically how it's done for all games anyway.

Original segment, make UVmap, adjust, apply texture, rail clone onto rail in background, weld edges, never ever delete said rail just in case ;). Ask if you need more clarification.

Oh and it requires manual UVmap adjusting, and many UVmaps, if you plan to make anything complex. As usual. Still the easiest and fastest way I know to get real proper quality.

At the same time I am looking into weight maps for terrain tex.

Sensei
06-05-2015, 01:52 AM
I have no idea how I can, for example, apply multiple textures to one material, so I can blend them through the others with an RGBA image or something. Multilayer texturing.

Such operations the best to do in Node Editor.
You could use Tools > Mixer.