PDA

View Full Version : Leaves problem



Niko3D
06-02-2015, 09:11 AM
Hi folks,

I have a little problem with the leaves.

Do you know why when I put a texture in color channel and the same W/B in alpha channel I have a lot of holes...I don't understand, they should don't be!
128421

The tree is full and in the back I dont have a sky.
It seems the trasparency with UV map doesn't work very well.

some helps?

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 09:14 AM
Here the leaves maps...128422128423

Sensei
06-02-2015, 09:21 AM
Default value of ray-recursion limit in Render Globals might be too little for your amount of recursions.

ps. Take a look at other thread about trees & leafs. Maybe it will inspire you a bit:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?143485-node-transparancy-problem-with-xfrog-tree
especially 3rd page.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 09:28 AM
Default value of ray-recursion limit in Render Globals might be too little for your amount of recursions.

Thank you very very much!

Kryslin
06-02-2015, 09:54 AM
To help cut down on ray/object intersections, use your alpha map as a clip map, and an alpha map.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 09:57 AM
To help cut down on ray/object intersections, use your alpha map as a clip map, and an alpha map.

Thank you!But Increase the Ray-recursion is fine!;)

Sensei
06-02-2015, 10:07 AM
It will render faster if you will use clip maps also.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 10:53 AM
oh ok!I'll try!;)
so...I have to put the clip map in Object Properties, right?
And the Alpha map, where?...always in Surface edit trasparency channel?

Danner
06-02-2015, 11:00 AM
If your version is older than 2015 you have to put the clip map in the object properties, otherwise it can be placed in the surface editor. You'll run out of recursion limit pretty fast on dense vegetation so there is no way around clip maps sometimes.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 11:05 AM
If your version is older than 2015 you have to put the clip map in the object properties, otherwise it can be placed in the surface editor. You'll run out of recursion limit pretty fast on dense vegetation so there is no way around clip maps sometimes.

I have 11.6.3 version...but in a few days I'll upgrade...
In 2015 will be different?

Danner
06-02-2015, 11:09 AM
Yes, clip maps are easier to apply. You can use the surface editor directly.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 11:20 AM
Yes, clip maps are easier to apply. You can use the surface editor directly.

I'm a bit confused...sorry...:)
So in 2015 version I can use only the Surface Editor...and to do the usual things...Color channel and Trasparency channel with alpha, right?

Sensei
06-02-2015, 11:24 AM
In 2015 there is Clip Map input in Surface Editor's Node Editor (per-surface clip map). Easier to set up Transparency & Clip Map simultaneously.

So there are two Clip Maps: second one in Object Properties (per-object clip map). What you have now.

Niko3D
06-02-2015, 11:31 AM
In 2015 there is Clip Map input in Surface Editor's Node Editor (per-surface clip map). Easier to set up Transparency & Clip Map simultaneously.

So there are two Clip Maps: second one in Object Properties (per-object clip map). What you have now.

Aaaaaa....ok!;)
So when I'll have 2015 version I let you know!
Thanks a lot...:)