PDA

View Full Version : BT_BoneBreaker always crashes on me (LW2015)



haroldini
05-16-2015, 01:59 PM
In Layout, I need to split one bone into 10 separate equal length bones. Older tutorials seem to use Setup -> Detail -> Split Bone and a dialog box shows up.

In LW 2015 (default menus, Windows 8.1 64bit), Setup -> Detail -> Split Bone results in an orange square deviding selected bones that I can slide. Right clicking on the square splits the bones, but only in two.

Other places on the forum suggest Utilities -> Plugins -> Additional -> BT_BoneBreaker, but on both my work and home computer (also LW2015 Windows 8.1 64bit) it always results in a crash.

RebelHill
05-16-2015, 02:16 PM
Theres Split Bone, and also Bone Split... use Bone Split.

haroldini
05-16-2015, 02:53 PM
Theres Split Bone, and also Bone Split... use Bone Split.

Where is the "Bone Split" tool? Searching in the "Configure Menus" only reveals "Split Bone".

Sensei
05-16-2015, 08:43 PM
This new Setup > Detail > Split Bone tool is a joke IMHO..

Sensei
05-16-2015, 09:36 PM
I made video tutorial showing my way of doing this (40 bones following curved path):
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?146710-TrueArt-LightWave-3D-Tutorial-How-To-Generate-Equal-Length-Bones-On-Curved-Path

haroldini
06-08-2015, 11:19 AM
Found the problem and a solution. It seems that in order to use BT_BoneBreaker you have to use a bone that has at least one child connected. A work around I found is to make one bone the length you want, add an extra bone, BT_BoneBreaker the first, and delete the child. Not terribly round about, and definitely easier/more precise than trying to use the Split Bone tool.