PDA

View Full Version : Subpatch trouble



~DD~Apocalypse
12-03-2003, 03:23 PM
F***ing POS !
im so pissed. I hit the subpatch key, it gives me this damn message that says only rolys w/ 3 or 4 verticies can be subpatched and says to use the triangler thing. I try the triangle thing, subpatch it, AND IT GIVE ME A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SHAPE! WTF!

danilo
12-03-2003, 03:39 PM
are you reading,or just writing?
danilo

FenrirWolf
12-03-2003, 03:58 PM
You might want to check the manual that came with your CD of Lightwave and read the organic modeling parts.

~DD~Apocalypse
12-03-2003, 05:00 PM
my question is how to find the poly's that have more than 3 or 4 vertices and how to fix that.
Danilo, what the hell is your problem? you flamed me in the other thread wth is wrong w/ u?

hrgiger
12-03-2003, 05:15 PM
I wouldn't reccomend tripling your geometry if you plan on subpatching your model. Try to use quads whenver possible(and usually, there are very few instances where you would actually need a triangle on your model).
Read your manual. Or at least use the index and find the answer you're looking for. You might even figure out how to avoid non 3 and 4 point polys to begin with.

hunter
12-03-2003, 05:33 PM
I don't think he's flaming you. Have you even read your first post? There's no question even asked.:rolleyes: You just started yelling at everyone. You can find 90% of the answers you seek in the manual. We all did why can't you?

mlinde
12-03-2003, 06:30 PM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse
my question is how to find the poly's that have more than 3 or 4 vertices and how to fix that.
1) Lightwave 7 Manual (Modeler Manual) page 27.20
2) PDF page 812 of 1078
3) "w" (keyboard shortcut)

The info/selection panel.

riki
12-03-2003, 07:30 PM
~DD~Apocalypse you really should read the manual, for your own benifit. I'm sure you'll get a lot out of it.

~DD~Apocalypse
12-03-2003, 07:45 PM
ok, i will, im also getting the LW 7.5 Primer for Christmas. =O
YAAY!

i wasn't yelling, i was sick, and i had a bad day. then this happened and i was like RAWR! lol

CMP 2003
12-04-2003, 03:48 PM
This is totally off the topic but How old are you ~DD~?

~DD~Apocalypse
12-04-2003, 04:00 PM
37.... no, just kidding
14

FenrirWolf
12-04-2003, 04:42 PM
Let me guess, your parents bought you Lightwave for your birthday, out of the goodness of their heart?

CMP 2003
12-04-2003, 05:07 PM
That would be a happy story but not very realistic.

Im only 15, i dont even have time to read the Manual im still in high school!!

but no one has yelled at me yet

knuckles644
12-04-2003, 05:16 PM
I'm only 14, and it's really hard to read the manual, with high school, but i am probably through 1/4 of it or so...I read the first 6 or 7 chapters and skipped ahead to modeling...I'm guessing that DD Apocalype here downloaded Lightwave off of Kazaa :eek: Shame, shame...

~DD~Apocalypse
12-04-2003, 05:47 PM
no, my grandma and grandpa gave it to me for graduation of Jr. High.

~DD~Apocalypse
12-04-2003, 05:49 PM
ps i hate kazaa, i actually tried to download it once, and it phuked up my computer with spyware and adware

CMP 2003
12-04-2003, 06:08 PM
Well.....youve started quite a controversial thread ~DD~

CHeck out mY site TEll me what You ThInk of It for a 15 yr. old


CM Productions (http://www.cmproductions.cjb.net)

knuckles644
12-04-2003, 06:12 PM
Your site is messy and poorly thought out. Clean it up, use a solid color background, and text that makes sense...or just do a Flash website. Sorry if that sounds a little bit harsh but that website is the exact opposite of professional.:(

~DD~Apocalypse
12-04-2003, 07:16 PM
jeebus, i came here for subpatch help and what do i do? i get prosecuted.
yeesh.
I'll just ask one of my friends and skip all this crap.
does. yeah, it is really messy.

hrgiger
12-04-2003, 09:08 PM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse

I'll just ask one of my friends and skip all this crap.


You could also read the manual.:rolleyes:

CMP 2003
12-05-2003, 11:46 AM
I am the exact opposite of a profesional.....And no, that wasnt harsh, but more of like the only feedback ive gotten from anyone

SplineGod
12-06-2003, 03:00 AM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse
jeebus, i came here for subpatch help and what do i do? i get prosecuted.
yeesh.
I'll just ask one of my friends and skip all this crap.
does. yeah, it is really messy.

No you got PERSECUTED, very different from being prosecuted. :)
I have some free Tutorials HERE (http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/support) . One is a tutorial on modeling with Subpatches. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-06-2003, 05:11 PM
oops. =)
wrong word =D
lol

~DD~Apocalypse
12-06-2003, 05:12 PM
oh ya splinegod i found your tuts really helpful!

SplineGod
12-06-2003, 05:13 PM
Thanks! Glad they worked out for you. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-06-2003, 06:27 PM
i like your site alot, it helped me with splines and face modeling but, i dont see in the subpatches in how to deal with faces that have >5 vertices

SplineGod
12-06-2003, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse
i like your site alot, it helped me with splines and face modeling but, i dont see in the subpatches in how to deal with faces that have >5 vertices
Thanks!
The face modeling stuff showing how to start with a single poly and add in the details is actually exerpts from my Character Course. The Transport is from my Intro to Lightwave course.

I never have polys with >4 sides when I model heads. The problem with having subpatches with > 4 sides is that you cant control the flow since those types of polys would be subdivided in unpredictable ways. You would then have to spend more time fixing that stuff when its easier to just use 4 sides polys and keep the models clean all the way. In other 3D apps that support subds with >4 sides many artists still recommend to avoid using them with organic models.

When I use splines to layout the polys for a head I get a nice clean flow and only quads like this example:

http://www.splinegod.com/examples/ogre.jpg

Because the flow is nice and clean and I have a nice even poly density it makes it easy to add in details like this:

http://www.splinegod.com/examples/ogre_head.jpg
Again this is using splines to layout the basic form and flow.

In this example I modeled this using another technique I show in my character course. I mimic the way you would draw a head starting with a basic primitive ( a single subpatched poly instead of a basic oval shape). In my tutorial on my site you see how I add the centerline, eyeline, mouthline etc. Here is the result starting from a single poly:
http://www.splinegod.com/personal/gollum_render_test2.jpg

Again in the beginning stages I pay close attention to basic form and FLOW. This sets the stage for me to easily add details later. If your modeling is good up front it only gets better when you go to add details. If you have mistakes early on they only get amplified later which means a lot more time spent fixing the mistakes. Heres the flow in the same gollum head but with wrinkles added. Again, I have ONLY quads in these models. Its important to model cleanly because this makes it easier to control the flow.

http://www.splinegod.com/examples/gollum_wireframe.jpg

~DD~Apocalypse
12-07-2003, 12:28 AM
ah i c. so basilly i should avoid them all together?

SplineGod
12-07-2003, 12:33 AM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse
ah i c. so basilly i should avoid them all together?

I would when it comes to character modeling. They may appear convenient but you will spend a significant amount of time fixing what could easily could have been avoided. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-07-2003, 10:13 AM
I'm modeling a pirate ship

when i do a boolean subtract to get the front like this

\____/

it makes a 6 sided poly

*cries*

=)

SplineGod
12-07-2003, 10:35 AM
Booleans would be the very last way I would probably model a ship. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-07-2003, 12:37 PM
:eek:

oh

heh...
heh...

Oh yah i forund i good way to not use them. knife's and welds.
whatu think?

~DD~Apocalypse
12-07-2003, 12:38 PM
oh and i tried it with splines but when i hit the button to make it a poly (not make polygon, the other one) it says the curves are incorrect

SplineGod
12-07-2003, 03:39 PM
There are a few basic rules on using splines.
I have them posted on this forum or CGTalk. Do a search under splines and splinegod and you should find something. Let me know if you cant. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-07-2003, 06:27 PM
okee dokee

SplineGod
12-07-2003, 07:53 PM
Heres a few threads about splines:
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=104046
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=106476
http://www.firedragon.com/~lwg3d/BMW/step01.htm
http://www.firedragon.com/~lwg3d/Mustang/step01.htm
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=43821

~DD~Apocalypse
12-09-2003, 06:05 PM
wow! how long have you been modeling?

knuckles644
12-09-2003, 07:42 PM
He's been modeling since the mid 1980's so almost 20 years. :eek: :)

SplineGod
12-09-2003, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by ~DD~Apocalypse
wow! how long have you been modeling?
For quite awhile. :) At first it was VERY basic mechanical stuff.
In those days you would pay thousands of dollars for software that is less powerful then a lot of free stuff is now.
Ever heard of Truespace? When that first came out on the Amiga it was over $3000.00 and far more primitive. Ive been using Lightwave for quite awhile.
Each time a new version has come out Ive had to relearn it all over again to figure out the new tools and stuff. Each revision has forced me to learn new tools and techniques.
In the early days all you could model with were points and polys and a couple of primitives. Later splines were added, Metaform and then realtime Subpatches. The later tools made character modeling much easier. :)

~DD~Apocalypse
12-09-2003, 08:27 PM
*what's that?*
*a head*
*looks like a box*
*it is*
*:eek: *