PDA

View Full Version : 3rd party nodes Item Info problems



probiner
04-29-2015, 11:26 PM
I can't cope much with native Item Info so I usually rely on 3rd parties. I used to use more DPkit one, but recently have been using more TruArt one. But each has their one detailed application depending on the intended effect.

Problem A
Now I found an issue with displacement that LightWave simply freezes between 900 and 1000 polygons when using TrueArt and ASTool ones. I've set a very simple node tree and scenes to test and would just appreciate if people opened up each scene, select the grid object and click activate the nodal Displacement to check if LightWave locks. The cIf 900 and 1024 lock then choose none, if 1024 locks then choose 900 and if none locks, choose 1024.
Form and files here: http://goo.gl/forms/eK7eXAXOo9
The node tree that causes the lock in the scene is very simple:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143766132/Forums/NewTek/ASToolItemInfo.png
(Sidetrack: Notice how neat is the object list in ASTool Item Info, using object icons)

This issue demoted me a bit from doing a tutorial as it's not great to establish a knowledge base with 900 polygons cap, but only today I was sure about the root of it.


Problem B
DPKit Item Info doesn't use Item ID port. The grid should be following the Null but doesn't.
Scene here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143766132/Forums/NewTek/DPkitItemInfoID.zip

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143766132/Forums/NewTek/DPkitItemInfo.png

Thanks for taking a loot into it and for developers if they have time to address these.
Cheers

dpont
04-30-2015, 12:52 AM
About problem B,
in DPKit, the Item Input is an Item Index not an Item ID,
Item Index is the index of the Item in the scene list,
because the ID of the Item is somehow hidden for the Layout user,
in common case a Type ID input from the first Item Info node
may work with an offset of 1,
but in another cases, Type ID, which is based on the Item ID
may not match the Item Index.

Denis.

probiner
04-30-2015, 01:04 AM
So there's no reliable path to do this sort of operation with DPkit one, right? I just tested and if I create 3 nulls and delete the 2nd, I can't use Type ID anymore with the 3rd (now second). Just trying to understand the reality fully, since both ASTool and TruArt do this.

Thanks Denis

PS: sent you an email with more details.

dpont
04-30-2015, 01:33 AM
Yes, with this kind of setup,
you need to manage your list of items in the scene
carrefully.


Denis.

probiner
04-30-2015, 04:18 AM
Thanks for the clarification Denis, I guess I'll avoid it for now for such uses.

Found the culprit for TrueArt and ASTool locks:

http://i.imgur.com/8iDyzPD.png

Not the first time this feature gives me grief, also messes up db&w and ASTool cache nodes.

I guess I have to trade speed for safety?

Cheers

probiner
04-30-2015, 01:55 PM
Threaded Mesh Eval as been reported both for Item Infos and Cache Node. Let's see -_-'

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143766132/CacheNode.mp4

Cheers