PDA

View Full Version : A few nodal requests



Dan Ritchie
04-29-2015, 02:48 PM
A few feature requests for LW nodal

Nodal in a viewport.

Nodes that don't have to be double clicked on to open up into a modal panel just to edit, especially for color and scaler entry windows.
ie, the node has a color picker on it that you can interact with directly without having to double click to open it.

Some kind of looping construct. Example, being able to loop through all lights in a scene to calculate illumination.

Antialised connecting lines

Refract/Reflect nodes.

random without the need of a seed value.

Sensei
04-29-2015, 03:11 PM
Refract/Reflect nodes.

They are built-in since LW v9.0:
Shaders > Reflections > Reflections.
Shaders > Transparency > Refractions.

I made video tutorials how you can simulate reflections (also with blurring) using ray-tracing functions and control it:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjvUxRnNcak
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nP425jM1oGM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEt3lsoey-k



random without the need of a seed value.

Without seed, it'll not be working correctly on renderfarm and in image-sequence F10 rendering..

You can try TrueArt's Node Library http://www.trueart.eu
Tools > Random nodes.
They have no seed.
Every render, you will receive different result.

prometheus
04-29-2015, 03:46 PM
A few feature requests for LW nodal



Antialised connecting lines

.


yeah..those looks horrible as they are now, houdini has it right, modo has it right...it just looks crappy and reflects poorly on a "proffesional" Lightwave UI. they didnīt fix that in 2015 did they?

papou
04-29-2015, 05:24 PM
- insert nodes (with most logical input/output connected).

- delete nodes (with no deconnexion of previous and next input).

- procedurals nodes where you can choice the type inside (like old procedurals layers and with most logical input/output preserved).

- gradient nodes panels compacted at right into the Node Editor like every others tools.

- most selected nodes into the popup at right of search text area. (actual options popup need to migrate to options)

- global store/restore nodes to share values between severals objetcs/shaders.

raw-m
04-30-2015, 12:10 AM
- gradient node with colour space options.

MSherak
04-30-2015, 12:31 AM
Nodal in a viewport.

If you are taking for GL, thats what VPR is for. Even in OpenGL most of the surface 'T' procedurals do not work. For GL to work it has to bake to a texture. 'T' button procedurals that do show up in the viewport are tileable and work only with projections. Try to place these in a UV space they do not show up. For nodes to show up in GL the structure it has to be bake to a texture and UV'ed to the model. This means all models would need to have only UV coordinates which is not the case in Lightwave since one can assign projections coordinates. VPR assures one will see every type of surface edit available for a model. GL only likes final textures.

Now there is an old school trick you can do to show all 'T' textures along with node constructs. Basically UV your model. Then load a blank texture with the resolution that you want in the texture editor. If you want to use 'T' button textures assign the Textured Filter to the image and open the options and texture away. If you want to see nodal structures download Denis's DP_Filter and assign the Node Image Filter to the texture, open the options and texture away. Now you can see your stuff in GL. There will be limitations. Especially when you start to do this to very large sized textures and most scene information is not passed to the process filters till rendering. So things like reading the incidence angle or info to a specific scene item will most likely not update when you are editing. Also FYI save often if you try this.

Placing nodes in the GL viewport is very complex since one can do so much more with nodes than base surface textures. Trust me even nodal edit in Maya is limited in the same way. It's not the because of the nodes but due to GL. If Lightwave had something like Maya's ShaderFX one could do complex nodal structures but remember these do not render into renderers since it is specific GL shader code. If one need something like a fractal procedural it takes on a whole new meaning seeing how it would have to be coded within ShaderFX.



- gradient node with colour space options.

Amen to that! Or just make sure it all nodal inputs and outputs adhere to the CS settings.


-M

meshpig
04-30-2015, 01:35 AM
Yeah, nodes in a viewport!!!!

raw-m
04-30-2015, 01:55 AM
Another workflow request, it would be great if nodes like scalar had the details always displayed - i.e., add a collapsable arrow so that the value, with sliders at the end, were easily accessible/readable without having to open them. Bit like the attached.

Dan Ritchie
04-30-2015, 10:50 AM
If you are taking for GL
-M

Talking about the node interface in a viewport instead of a separate window. It would help SO much on a single monitor setup like a laptop.

- - - Updated - - -


Another workflow request, it would be great if nodes like scalar had the details always displayed - i.e., add a collapsable arrow so that the value, with sliders at the end, were easily accessible/readable without having to open them. Bit like the attached.

Amen to that, too.

MSherak
04-30-2015, 11:18 AM
Talking about the node interface in a viewport instead of a separate window. It would help SO much on a single monitor setup like a laptop.

Oh I agree with that one.

Kryslin
04-30-2015, 11:45 AM
Papou:

DPont's node kit has nodes that let you use the old texture layers system in a node.

My request: varyRGB, varyHSV, RGBtoHSV, cellularnoise(like the RSL function of the same name). These are building blocks for other textures.

Dan Ritchie
05-11-2015, 02:30 PM
Refract/Reflect nodes.

Specifically, input a surface normal and camera vector, (and eta) and output a vector.

Snosrap
05-11-2015, 06:20 PM
Yeah, nodes in a viewport!!!!

Core had nodes in a viewport.��

BokadCastle
05-11-2015, 07:03 PM
Core had nodes in a viewport.��

Bring back CORE.
Bring back CORE.

BokadCastle
05-11-2015, 07:38 PM
I have trouble dragging the arrow-head from an output to the correct input.
I often drop the arrow-head or it pops into the wrong input.
Probably 30% of the time - worse now that I have a 4K monitor.

Could we just click the first output, then click the input and have the arrow draw itself.

The Weld tool works that way, you click the first point and then click the second point and the weld just occurs to the second point.

BokadCastle
05-11-2015, 07:44 PM
about CORE...that was a joke.

Davewriter
05-11-2015, 08:13 PM
about CORE...that was a joke.

Damn! Hope we can recall the assassins in time... :)

BokadCastle
05-11-2015, 08:40 PM
:hey:

Thomas Helzle
05-12-2015, 11:11 AM
A few feature requests for LW nodal

Nodal in a viewport.

Nodes that don't have to be double clicked on to open up into a modal panel just to edit, especially for color and scaler entry windows.
ie, the node has a color picker on it that you can interact with directly without having to double click to open it.

Some kind of looping construct. Example, being able to loop through all lights in a scene to calculate illumination.

Antialised connecting lines

Refract/Reflect nodes.

random without the need of a seed value.

- Yeah, and simple drag and drop of nodes from the list instead of the silly doubleclick to put them in the graph.


- STRG-drag over connecting lines to cut them:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/Usine/BlenderCutWires.gif


- doubleclick/or right-click the background to get a fuzzy-search like Grasshopper/Blender:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/Usine/BlenderSearch.gif


- And if you ever need to see really brilliant nodes, check Grasshopper:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/FabricEngine/Grasshopper_Nodes.jpg

I totally agree with using the surface of the nodes themself for at least some interaction. Blender and Grasshopper may not be to everybodys taste, but there are small things like showing numbers/colours etc. that could be really helpful for a faster workflow and easier reading of larger graphs.

Cheers,

Tom

Amurrell
05-13-2015, 04:20 AM
I'm not sure why this never bothered me before yesterday, but when I adjust the roughness in a material node, I shouldn't have to go to the advanced tab to activate reflection blurring. I mean, hell, it's why I'm adjusting the value for anyway. Seems like a wasted step to me.

Dan Ritchie
05-13-2015, 11:37 AM
- Yeah, and simple drag and drop of nodes from the list instead of the silly doubleclick to put them in the graph.


- STRG-drag over connecting lines to cut them:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/Usine/BlenderCutWires.gif


- doubleclick/or right-click the background to get a fuzzy-search like Grasshopper/Blender:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/Usine/BlenderSearch.gif


- And if you ever need to see really brilliant nodes, check Grasshopper:
http://www.screendream.de/stuff/FabricEngine/Grasshopper_Nodes.jpg

I totally agree with using the surface of the nodes themself for at least some interaction. Blender and Grasshopper may not be to everybodys taste, but there are small things like showing numbers/colours etc. that could be really helpful for a faster workflow and easier reading of larger graphs.

Cheers,

Tom


Where's the like button on this thing???

Dan Ritchie
05-13-2015, 11:56 AM
Math nodes combined into a single node, so I don't have to change out nodes every time I want to test a different math function.

128233

Thomas Helzle
05-13-2015, 12:22 PM
Yeah, good one too.

When I did my TLHPro shaders back in the day for messiah:studio, I had one node called multimath, that allowed to do several math operations in a row where you could select the operation for each step and also had an input for each. So in all cases where you do for instance first an addition, then multiply the result and then take the sine of that etc. you were able to do it all in one node.

Grasshopper is so totally stuffed to the rim with good ideas, it's not even funny anymore. I yesterday followed a tutorial for the C# node... awesome timesaver for a system like that. And that data tree visualisation node is a work of art in itself:

http://www.screendream.de/stuff/FabricEngine/DataPaths02_WEB1461x393.jpg

Cheers,

Tom

Sensei
05-13-2015, 01:23 PM
Better would be equation node.
User enters ((a+b)*c)/d f.e. in text field, and output is calculated..
But it's much harder to do such node than normal nodes.
It must be very versatile, proper error handling idiot proof.

Thomas Helzle
05-13-2015, 01:48 PM
Yeah, that is exactly why I didn't do it ;-)
My simple solution worked very well and was indeed idiot proof without the need for complex parsing.

Cheers,

Tom