PDA

View Full Version : i can't figure out how to do this

a_chisholm
12-03-2003, 03:13 AM
The image attached shows a part i am trying to model. Iv'e made good progress but i'm having trouble with this certain part. I need to bend the ends that are sticking out. Iv'e drawn a plan so you can see what i'm talking about

Iv'e been working on this for a few weeks now and i'm not getting anywhere. any help is appreciated!

i'l attach the LW object in the next post

thanks,
Alistair

a_chisholm
12-03-2003, 03:16 AM
... the lwo

------->

a_chisholm
12-03-2003, 05:22 AM
I just figured it out. it was staring me in the face. the KNIFE tool let me do what is was wanting, man i feel like a plonker.

:eek:

Fistandantilus
12-03-2003, 05:50 AM
Good one.I'm an utter noob but i downloaded the file.After a bit i used the knife tool cut and pasted the bars to a new layer,rotated,moved and than copied it back.

How did you do it??

a_chisholm
12-03-2003, 06:53 AM
I used the knife tool to cut the ends. and simply moved the end polygons in a bit. It's probably not the best way to do it but it looks ok. Your way sounds better though

Fistandantilus
12-03-2003, 08:41 PM
a_chisholm

just wanted to show you what i did last night.I'm sure with a bit more tweaking it coul;d be fixed.I only did the one side as well.

SLAYER
12-03-2003, 11:31 PM
First thing is that this thing has alot of errors in it. The end polys and such have two on top of each other and alot of weird errors like that throughout. Also this thing had over 6000 polys in it!
Way overkill. You can get the same amount of detail that you were trying to achieve with much less. Some of your points for the fillets and radii were so close that they looked like one until zoomed way in on. In some cases they were on top of each other.