PDA

View Full Version : Alembic surfaces



magiclight
03-31-2015, 05:02 AM
Say that I have a lot of alembic files, they all contain the same object, just different animations of that same object.

Would it be possible to load that object as a "reference" object and when importing the alembic files I could just copy the surfaces from the reference object to the alembic object in some way ? so I don't have to setup the surfaces everyt time I load an animation.

ernpchan
03-31-2015, 05:50 AM
You could mdd your alembic animation and then just apply the mdd to your surfaced object.

Or once you load the alembic file, swap to the surfaced version.

There used to be a technique where if you set the surface editor to scene and not object, you could load the surfaced object in last and all the surfaces that share that name would adopt the most recent object's surface settings. I don't know if if this technique is still valid. Going with the second option would be the most practical.

magiclight
04-01-2015, 01:58 PM
I got everything in MDD format instead, worked fine to import the MDD data to an existing model so I will go with that instead and drop the Alembic way.