PDA

View Full Version : photo scanning into objects

vonpietro
03-27-2015, 11:35 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6eqW6yk50k&list=PLh9RSMSPPxfvysfUN5WC_1dIY07TDrhuV&index=154

have you guys tried this at all?

do you have alt methods to do this?

I tried it - so far, not enough images. (about 30 images) I could not get the softwares involved to resolve anything useful yet.

pretty neat - the guys who did the open world kite demo on unreal used a commercial program costing $4k.
This is the free undergrad versions in the youtube video.

=)
promising technology - and very coooool.

m.d.
03-28-2015, 12:37 AM
I've been using autodesk catch123d for a few years...it's free but you may wait 6 hours to get a model back as the computing is on the cloud...

They restrict you to about 70 images which is not bad. I have been able to scan parts to well under a 1mm accuracy to be used for 3d printing...

I have been meaning to try visual sfm....looks pretty similar, in terms of tech...but not restricted to number of images

The autodesk iPhone app is pretty neat as it helps you take the pictures and has a few spherical rings representing the pictures you took, so you know where you are lacking in coverage

I have done people before with great results...but they have to sit very still for 5 minutes
The next person I do, I want to try pulling video stills from my Epic camera and shout take less then a minute of filming

vonpietro
03-28-2015, 12:41 AM
do you know what the minimum megapixels should be?
http://www.123dapp.com/catch#download - i found this link.
is it a pc thing or an app thing or both?
it might work better.

is it free to do with as you wish after you generate the model? or does autodesk do anything with it? (i have no idea what all that mumbo jumbo in the legal read this is)