PDA

View Full Version : Open letter on 3D software

Paul Goodrich
03-24-2015, 02:26 PM
Open letter on 3D software:
I am a hobbyist who uses Lightwave mostly for my own projects and I don't use it all the time. Also I'm on a Mac for what that's worth. However I find myself annoyed and frustrated by the software. These issues are not Mac only of Lightwave only. This is not to diss Lightwave as I find a lot of the same problems in other 3D software as well. I've played around in Maya, Blender and others and have found the same issues. Now when I first started with 3D software it was Lightwave 5.5 and it was buggy as all get out and learning it was a bear as you didn't know if it was you or the software causing the problems. I put this down to perhaps 3D software being not quite ready for prime time yet. I work in many programs and have for a long time. I started in After Effects when it was still COSA After Effects before Abode bought it. I beta tested many programs as well. Including Pro Tools and other audio and video editing and mixing software. I found a lot of the same problems in these programs in the early days. Features not working, buggy behavior, lots of crashes, etc. As time went on though the programs got better and tended to start to work as they should. This does not seem to be the case with 3D software. When I was talking a class in Maya the teacher would often have to tell us: "Oh, that's a bug. Restart the program or here's the workaround." So this is not limited to Lightwave. Simple functions seem to be way more difficult than they should be and there is no conformity between programs or even sometimes in the same program. There's also a lot of intuitiveness in how to work with other programs. If I'm in After Effects, Premiere, Final Cut, Pro Tools, Reason or other media based programs there's similar way of working or it's much easier to get things done than in any of the 3D programs I've used. Now some might say that it's because 3D is SO complicat