PDA

View Full Version : new to LW no bashing

djtonio
12-02-2003, 08:54 PM
hello all how is everyone. as you can tell i am new to light wave. i am a college student trying to figure out what to do in life. Then i saw lightwave. i was instantly interested. i was at a show in chicago ( forgot what it was called) and saw a guy creating a video game character and i have always been interested in that. i just have a few questions about LW.

1. what else can you do with LW?
2. how many career feilds use this program?
3. is it hard to learn?

as i said i am in college not sure what i want to do yet. im thinking on take multimedia arts class's but im not sure if thats the right major for this kind of work. please if you professionals could give me a few pointers on this it would be most helpful. hope to get to know some of u soon take care.

dj tonio

djtonio
12-02-2003, 10:42 PM
with all the gret work i have seen....no one can give me a little help?

Melvil
12-02-2003, 11:01 PM
Hiya! Welcome. =)

I'll answer your questions as best I can, though I'm hardly a professional.

1. Well, the Lightwave website sums it up pretty well:

"Off the shelf, LightWave 3DŽ is the most complete and flexible software solution for 3D graphics and animation."

I'd really suggest following this link (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/product/index.html) to get a complete description of what Lightwave is.

2. Well, not sure exactly how to answer that one. This link (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/product/projects_list.html) may give you some idea of what kind of things it is used for. As you can see everything from Feature Films, Music Videos, and TV Commercials to Video Games, magazines and other advertising uses LW. It can be used for architextural previsualization, website design/graphics, and many more.