PDA

View Full Version : cant open Mac scenes on PC



byronpetch
12-02-2003, 04:03 PM
Hi,

Seem to be asking a lot of questions at the moment but there just seems to be a few things I want to sort out once and for all.

I often set up complex scenes on my Mac then to speed up rendering I render the scene on Mac and a PC. Just lately everytime I try to open a scene on the PC that I have moved over from the Mac it cant find any of the objects. I have to manually locate most objects and textures. This is a real pain when I have hundreds of objects in a scene.

I always set the content directory so it's not that.

Any ideas appreciated

Thanks

MAtt

mlinde
12-02-2003, 04:07 PM
Open the scene file in a text editor (like BBEdit) and resave a copy of the file with UNIX or DOS line breaks.

byronpetch
12-03-2003, 01:45 AM
Thanks for that. erm....what are UNIX or DOS line breaks?:)

byronpetch
12-03-2003, 03:02 AM
Just realised it's as simple as selecting the option to save with DOS line breaks. Unfortunately it still doesn't work.

Thanks though.

Matt

mlinde
12-03-2003, 10:14 AM
Check your directory structure. Certain plug-ins or paths don't work right switching. If you see a path like
Macintosh HD:My Animations:Objects:Object.lwo
that's a problem. You will need to correct paths like that to point correctly at the location in windows, in the text editor.