PDA

View Full Version : Bug in Rail Extrude or am I insane?



jaxtone
02-06-2015, 03:32 PM
Hi!

Tried to make something Iīve made in my sleep too many times to expect difficulties! Itīs all about a still image and most of the object will not be seen though its hidden under water.

A simple snake like character where only parts of the body is visible. I thought it would be a good idea to use Rail extrude to start with for the body! But damn I was sooooo wrong!

I made a flat circle, I tried with a flat cube but whatever I tried ended up in a very one dimensional object with no volume at all. I donīt know if its me or a bug and would be glad if someone check out the content in this zipfile to see if it works at yours, if so, please tell me how!

Jack

JoePoe
02-06-2015, 04:20 PM
couple of things....

1) there seems to be five squares.
2) you're aligned to the tail of the background spline (you can flip the spline)
2.5 ;)) flip the poly too. The extrude is going to be inside out this way.
3) Yeah, the newer rail extrude is a little weird. Where the poly is now, once you've sorted the first two things, make sure you have "Align to Start" unchecked.
If you have a poly that is really is out of alignment I would use another plug to align to rail.

jaxtone
02-06-2015, 05:27 PM
Thanks Joe!

Iīll check it out at once!

jaxtone
02-06-2015, 05:41 PM
Whoa! Unchecked "Align to start" was the thing! Thanks a lot Joe!