PDA

View Full Version : Vector mixer question



Andy Webb
02-06-2015, 07:02 AM
I'm not great with nodes and I suspect I'm doing this wrong, but I've got 2 procedural textures that I want to apply as Normal Maps (they do have Normal outputs).

I'm using the Vector Mixer node which is working but the results do not look 100% right.

I'm plugging 1 texture into Back 1 and the other texture into Front 1 and setting the Blending to additive.

The problem seems to be that one texture somehow seems to be darker than it should be.

Cheers

RebelHill
02-06-2015, 07:34 AM
You mean colour mixer, not vector mixer?

Anyhow... try the vector add node, and then normalise the output.

Andy Webb
02-06-2015, 08:00 AM
You mean colour mixer, not vector mixer?

Anyhow... try the vector add node, and then normalise the output.

I'll try that, but I do mean Vector Mixer...

126925

Andy Webb
02-06-2015, 08:09 AM
Thanks RebleHill, the add node did the trick.

There seems to be little to no info on the Vector Mixer node, at least not that means anything to me :D

Cheers

Sensei
02-06-2015, 12:33 PM
It's not LW node, but some 3rd party...

Andy Webb
02-06-2015, 04:39 PM
Yes it's a node by Ken Nign

Sensei
02-06-2015, 04:54 PM
To join two normal maps typically we add vector to vector, or subtract vector from vector, then normalize.

Did you normalize?

Andy Webb
02-07-2015, 02:49 AM
Using the Add Vector I normalised it, but using the Vector Mixer I didn't because I didn't realise I needed too.