PDA

View Full Version : New to 3d

haffy
01-29-2015, 05:58 AM
Hi, I have allot of questions as I'm new to 3d. But I will try to narrow it down. In school I learned 3ds MAX and have used Maya just to try it off.

I will use the 3d software package for 3d conceptual work. Will start of by sculpting in Zbrush and move it to LW to add threes and landscapes and so on. DAZ and Marvelous will have there parts in it to. Is LW going to work for this?
I love the simple UI, the crossplatform support and the pricetag of LW, thats why I am looking at it and asking for help.

First of, why is LW not that popular? I see hobyists and professionals using LW all the time, but is there something you can't do in LW? I recently bought and read the Digital Modeling by William Vaughan (who sems to know what he talks about), and he uses LW and has worked for Pixar to name one. Does the pro only use LW for modeling work and then exporting it?

Does LW have support a workflow with Zbrush? And if so, is it easy?

Is there any realy nice renderers for LW, like V-Ray? Or what is the solution?

It could happend that I also will do some architectual work, does LW have any CAD import plugins?

I recently bought a new computer, moving from Mac after like 15 years, to PC (Mac has lost the grasp of "pro line" in my opinion). Not loving it, but the price was better and I could get me an Quadro K2200 card. Does LW support it? I want to use it. And with that said, I hope to use Mac in the future again..

Do you guys have any tutorial site to recomend besides the one at newtek page? I want to se some that WOWs me.

Thanks in advice for any help and answers to my questions, I know you guys see them all the time.

* Sorry, English is not my main language..

Marander
01-29-2015, 06:31 AM
Hello haffy

Maybe I can answer some of your questions (I'm just a hobbiest):