PDA

View Full Version : Rendering with LWSN version 2015.1

VirtualFM
01-28-2015, 12:27 PM
Hello!

I am been using LW 2015.1 intensively the last month and am planning to start a nice rant about it, but before I start I would like to ask if anyone is using LWSN with LW2015.1 without any issues.

I am used to setup Screamernet (beeing it with true Screamernet beeing with a renderfarm controller) since at least version 5.5, so I am no newbie with this. I setup Lightwave network render farms using from pure screamernet with *.bat files to Lightnet, Butterfly Netrender, Deadline, Smedge, RenderPal and something else I forget...

However, I can't setup LWSN version 2015.1 even if my life depends on it. Actually, my life depends on it and this project I am finishing is going much less smoother than it should for the sole reason I can't use a renderfarm. Eveerything works perfectly with LWSN version 11.6.3, as usual, but the same procedure applied with the new LWSN leads to weird rendered frames, with wrong camera settings, lights not beeing rendered, etc. There are no error messages, it can find the plugins and can find the objects etc, it just renders everything wrong.

Is anyone using LWSN (build 2833) with success?!

Greenlaw
01-28-2015, 12:55 PM
I'm using Lightwave 2015.1's LWSN with BNR 5 and it seems to work fine here. At the studio where I was freelancing, LWSN worked with Deadline render but I had to modify one of the Deadline scripts--it had to do with an internal program name change, something like 'Lightwave 11' vs 'LW 2015'. I suspect other 3rd party render controllers may be affected by this change.

I haven't tried LWSN in standalone mode since 2015 came out but I'll check it out--sometimes I need to do that for testing purposes.

G.

VirtualFM
01-28-2015, 03:31 PM