PDA

View Full Version : Flat perspective 360 environment



eheupel
03-05-2003, 04:40 PM
Wondering if anyone has done this before and which method worked for them....

Need to render a looping 360 spin of a work setting. Key panels (90degrees apart) will be used for DVD menus. Camera is center of the work site. The client wants everything in the panels to be almost flat perspective.

I can think of a half dozen ways to do it in general but thought I might ask if anyone has done it before and what they found worked best.

Rory_L
03-05-2003, 07:02 PM
Thought I had an answer, but it won`t work. Sorry!

R

eheupel
03-05-2003, 11:46 PM
That's ok, I've struck out on two of my half dozen methods in prelim tests. They work, but not well enough..

I need a force perspective option on the camera.

TerryFord
03-06-2003, 04:27 AM
This any use?

Special Projection Engine (http://www.arrakis.es/~juanj/)

Regards,
Terry

Rory_L
03-06-2003, 04:37 AM
You put the camera a mile away from the objects and zoom it in so the objects fill the screen. So far, so much the same as my original idea! Now you rotate the objects and move them off to one side so that the camera`s centre of focus doesn`t seem to slope off in the opposite direction.

When the panels have gone out of shot you`ll have to stop rotating them but keep them moving off in the direction you started them off in. Looking down on the scene from a bird`s eye perspective your objects will be moving along on a conveyor belt, describing a hump backed bridge shape, or a caterpillar, if you prefer!

...and I`ve just seen Terry post something that sounds like it`ll be a lot more help! Well, take your pick!

Cheers,

R

Rory_L
03-06-2003, 04:43 AM
Yep, just checked out that site. Ignore me and download that plugin!! I`ve got to get out of my LW5.6 habit of doing things the hard way :D There are so many great answers to knotty problems out there, just calling to me to download them!

Terry, this looks indispensable for texture work. Do you know if it`s available for Mac?

R

TerryFord
03-06-2003, 05:35 AM
Originally posted by Rory_L
Do you know if it`s available for Mac?
I don't think so, but Richard Brak (http://www.richardbrak.net/plugins/index.html#plugin) offers a free Mac compile service for LW plugins, might be worth suggesting it to the author.


Regards,
Terry

eheupel
03-06-2003, 07:25 AM
Thanks guys! :)

Rory-
Thanks for the suggestion- that was what I was setting up untill I saw Terry's post. When all else fails resort to brute force (aka LW 5.6) work-arounds.

Terry-
Looks like the SPE plugin is just the ticket. Now to tweak so the title safe areas match up the way I need them to be...where'd that custom field chart go....


Eric