PDA

View Full Version : Building new commercial renderfarm

cginow
01-05-2015, 07:41 PM
Hello all,

I am in the process of developing a new commercial renderfarm and am interested in hearing from the Lightwave community about what would make it most useful to you. I was a professional animator using Lightwave 15+ years ago (back in the Video Toaster days), primarily creating simulations used in construction related lawsuits. After realizing my technical skills were quickly exceeding my creative talents, I abandoned animation for a career in database and application development. A recent opportunity has presented itself and I am in the process of realizing a 15+ year dream to create a renderfarm. Building and running a renderfarm would allow me to leverage my technical skills and still participate in the creative process, however tangentially.

To give you an idea of the renderfarm capacity - preliminary tests (at partial capacity) have resulted in an effective Cinebench 15 score of over 527,000 (Cinebench 11.5 over 6,100).

I have done extensive research and am well underway with development but am keenly interested to hear from you - actual Lightwave users - about what you think a renderfarm should be able to do. Any assistance would be appreciated. Please let me know if you are interested in providing test scenes and/or participating in a beta program.

Thank you!

djwaterman
01-06-2015, 01:33 AM