PDA

View Full Version : Use sliders to control Morph Mixer Endomorphs



ernesttx
12-28-2014, 08:17 PM
Hey guys/gals,
Is is possible to use Sliders to control Morph Mixer Endomorphs? Or is there a way to show Endomorphs with sliders? I like to have the Morph Mixer as sliders on the screen as I am animating. But, all I can see if the Morph Mixer window and having to go back and forth between layout screen and mixer screen is distracting.

thanks in advance.

ernpchan
12-28-2014, 08:25 PM
Yeah, tie the envelope of your morph to the sliders that you build via object properties.

ernesttx
12-28-2014, 08:43 PM
Any video tutorial on that. I add the Sliders option under Geometry Tab and open it up. I don't see my endomorphs in any of the channels. I open Morph Mixer and click on Envelope button on one of my morphs, but how to map that to a slider. The manual was not helpful, it just stated how to open it up and the options on the slider screen. Funny thing is, in the manual, they show endomorphs in the Slider channels. How to get them in there?

Also, how to move the Sliders in the screen. I try to click on the move icon for the sliders, but I can't move it or move the slider on the sliders or click on the back or forward icons. Running LW 2015, Win 7, NVidia 310M latest drivers. So, not sure it's a OpenGL issue either. Ugh.

ernesttx
12-28-2014, 08:49 PM
Ok found the Endomorphs in the channels on the slider setup :) I had expanded the wrong hierarchy item and couldn't see them. I have a Genoma 2 rig setup (which is also new to me) so not used to hundreds of listings when expanding items.

Still unable to move any of the sliders or the sliders as a whole unit.

ernesttx
12-28-2014, 08:54 PM
OK everything working now. Weird. Had to click on move icon and then click on it again. Most have been some mouse focus thing. Thanks ernpchan

ernesttx
12-28-2014, 08:58 PM
Nope seems to be something about the sliders not accepting clicks on the screen. Can I not just select it in some menu drop down. Is it an Object, or some other "item"?

ernpchan
12-28-2014, 10:53 PM
To get sliders to work, you have to make sure the slider tool itself is activated. That's why I don't like them because you have to switch to another tool each time. I prefer tieing channels to an object's channel as then it's just a matter of selecting the object. But then you don't get the nice slider ui overlay.

I guess it'll all boil down to how you wanna work. You could always keep the morph mixer ui up and just put it in an area of your screen that's out of the way. Or look into a rig setup that you like, facial box control rig, object sliders etc. Rigging itself is an art form.

Kryslin
12-28-2014, 11:12 PM
May I ask why? Not meaning to be an ***, but the Morph Mixer provides all the sliders you'll need for morphs...

However, linking a morph to another channel for control - like a 'joystick' controller for facial animation - that's a different story. The best way is to use an expression as a channel modifier. The easiest way is to use nodes (DPont's nodal channel filter, or Nodes via Textured Channel), but you run afoul of deferred motion updates, unless you either use a nasty, dirty hack to force a live update, or have virtual studio live on (which slows things down).

I guess it's different strokes for different folks...

3dbr
12-28-2014, 11:19 PM
I have the same problem:
the slider works (morph and visible), but when I open the file- slider newly-empty, but channels it has

http://i61.tinypic.com/ehemw9.jpg

LW 11.6.3

ernesttx
12-29-2014, 06:39 AM
Kryslin, it's just a workflow / screen real estate issue. I'm trying to see if LW 2015 can be setup like my old workflow. I had been using Autorig in Messiah Studio to rig my characters and do the animation. So, I'm seeing if I can setup 2015 the same way. Genoma 2 seems to be a great alternative to Autorig. So, I was trying to setup the sliders to work the same way. Yes, morph mixer does have all the sliders, it's just that the window for Morph Mixer takes up some valuable viewing area and covers up things sometimes.

For me, it's easier to collapse the Sliders and bring them up when needed. But, with the new Morph Mixer button in the object properties, it's just a couple of clicks away. And if I'm not able to click and move the Sliders, then, I'll just use the Morph Mixer option.