PDA

View Full Version : BandSaw Pro poor perfomance



CorsaOPC
12-16-2014, 05:47 AM
Hi to all.

I have a weird problem... Trying bandsaw pro on the same 3d model on two different PC's and I need somw advice.

1) i7 3820 with ATi firepro V4900 + 16gb ram

2) Some old machine duo core (u got the idea... OLD)


Band saw pro seem very very slow on my fast Pc... and works flawlessly on my Old one...

Tried different drivers on my gpu and still the same...

Any ideas would be life saving.

Thanks!

MarcusM
12-16-2014, 05:56 AM
Try force turn off Vsync in drivers

CorsaOPC
12-16-2014, 06:04 AM
Try force turn off Vsync in drivers


Still the same poor performance... i'm ready to throw this ati on carbadge!!!

MarcusM
12-16-2014, 06:20 AM
Strange... beacuse this problem is very common:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?133882-Very-slow-selection-performance-in-Modeler-since-11-5-Anyone-Else&highlight=vsync

CorsaOPC
12-16-2014, 06:23 AM
Strange... beacuse this problem is very common:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?133882-Very-slow-selection-performance-in-Modeler-since-11-5-Anyone-Else&highlight=vsync

Marcus, I have already seen this but there is no difference at all... Way too bad if its a gpu problem... I payed 200 e for this one.


I uninstalled my gpu drivers...

Bandsaw works faster... everything else works muuuuch slower!!! (as expected)

MSherak
12-16-2014, 07:48 PM
Marcus, I have already seen this but there is no difference at all... Way too bad if its a gpu problem... I payed 200 e for this one.


I uninstalled my gpu drivers...

Bandsaw works faster... everything else works muuuuch slower!!! (as expected)

You got a card that is only 128-bit memory bus. It's not going to be that fast. Also the card is a 2D overlay version which slows down all 2D unless the software you are using calls and uses the overlay mode. That is why your updated drivers slows it down. 2D overlay is really only used in CAD software now. Most 3D applications don't use this anymore. So don't get fooled by the modeling aspect of a video card. Even Maya has finally dropped it, which up till 2011 it was required. Most FirePRO cards are for specific function software. They can't even run games well due to missing 3D functions. If you have every used a cad system and looked at say a blueprint for a skyscraper you would know why you want 2D acceleration. That is also why those cards cost more. They don't sell tons of them but they do sell. AMD's (CAD) line is called FirePro and Nvidia's (CAD) line is called Quadro. Stay away from these unless you know you need 2D overlay.

You would be better off with this card instead http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202090 which is faster all the way around and under $200 and does not have the 2D overlay.

-M

Sensei
12-16-2014, 08:32 PM
Bandsaw was written in times there was no edge support in LW, so it has to analyze entire geometry to find loop.

Check out Swift Edge Loop
http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop

YouTube video tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CowtqPTR78A

It's using new edge supporting functions, therefore it's super fast even with dense geometry.