PDA

View Full Version : Band Saw Pro is missing!



KevinFlynn
12-11-2014, 04:16 PM
I use Band Saw Pro all the time, but when I go to use it today it's mysteriously missing!??

126019

I am on lightwave 11.6.1

I have checked all the sub menus on the multiply tab, but it just isn't there!

I know there are other ways to cut in an edge loop, but in many cases band saw pro is extremely time saving!


Thanks in advance for the help!

squarewulf
12-11-2014, 04:21 PM
Have you tried looking for it in Edit>Menu layout or Edit>Keyboard shortcuts?

KevinFlynn
12-11-2014, 04:31 PM
I just checked, and it looks like it's missing from the menu layout too.

ernpchan
12-11-2014, 04:33 PM
Try rescanning your plugins or choose one of the default menu presets.

KevinFlynn
12-11-2014, 04:35 PM
I have already try'ed choosing a default menu preset (I think) and it still didn't show up.

How do you re-scan your plugins?

squarewulf
12-11-2014, 04:36 PM
I just checked, and it looks like it's missing from the menu layout too.

That's bizarre. Should be under Polygons in the menu.

KevinFlynn
12-11-2014, 04:38 PM
That's bizarre. Should be under Polygons in the menu.

Only regular band saw shows up.

hrgiger
12-11-2014, 04:45 PM
Do a search for it in your edit plugins menu.

squarewulf
12-11-2014, 04:46 PM
126021

It appears like they are both grouped into the one plugin. Maybe you have an outdated version? Very strange indeed. Maybe try deleting/re adding it?

KevinFlynn
12-11-2014, 04:50 PM
Do a search for it in your edit plugins menu.

It doesn't appear to be here ether.

126022

I there a way to re install it from the disk?


EDIT:


Maybe try deleting/re adding it?

I went to "scan directory" and found where the band saw plugin is stored, and it loaded not only band saw pro, but also band glue (another tool I use all the time) which apparently was also missing!

Thanks everyone for the lightning fast, life saving reposes!

squarewulf
12-11-2014, 05:08 PM
It doesn't appear to be here ether.

126022

I there a way to re install it from the disk?


It should be in

LightWave\support\plugins\model

Mine is 62kb if yours is the same, try just deleting from modeler, then manually re-adding it.

KevinFlynn
12-12-2014, 11:26 AM
Multishift appears to be missing too... and who knows how many other things.

Is it safe to uninstall, than re-install lightwave?

Skonk
12-12-2014, 01:16 PM
EDIT: didn't see that you'd already sorted it sorry. It happens from time to time though and doing what I put below will usually fix it.

Uninstalling wont do anything since it doesn't remove the configs.

Do this.

Utilities (tab) > Edit Plugins > Scan Directory > brows to your lightwave install folder then into "Support/Plugins" and then hit OK.

Once it's scanned, hit done and close the box then goto the Edit menu > Configure Menus then change the preset to anything other than the default, then change it back to Default.

Close the panel and check the multiply tab to see if Bandsaw Pro is back.

jeric_synergy
12-12-2014, 02:14 PM
huh, this isn't the other "missing plugins" thread?

Anyway, I worry that the CONFIGS will get changed if plugins aren't found/aren't displayed-- LW/LWM saves the configs on exit, so if it's not displaying tools 'cuz it can't find them, are the menu configs affected at all?

That would mean, if it's the case, that one instance of not-finding plugins would trash one's carefully crafted UI. But, IIRC, this is not actually the situation, so even if a plugin isn't found, it SEEMS to be retained in the menu config.